RSS Feed

Baking Escapade # 1 ~ Recipe for Eggless Chocolate Cake with Condensed Milk

Posted on

eggless chocolate cake

I went over to Meeta’s to check the guidelines for MM # 12 for the ice cream I made with inspiration from Anita’s recipe ofroasted banana ice-cream…spent more time than I should have….i looked at all the offerings for her birthday party and drooled over them….the thing is I can cook comfortably for a party of up even 40 people…but baking has eluded me so far….I’ve not been able to bake something with finesse or to my satisfaction and both…..cooking is instinctive, and you can go along making things up…for baking, you go by the book (mostly) and that’s next to impossible for me….last week I tried a very ambitious baking project and mucked it up…..it was hilarious…..i was ruing the time and energy, not to mention the resources that were wasted ….but I believe that failures are the stepping stones to success…only how many I will have to step on is the question that haunts me!!

Ok back to what I was saying….I spent the better part of an hour over the recipes that made it to Meeta’s birthday party …..There were so many cakes and baked goodies that it made me think I needed to give my burnt baking hands another go……and this one by Anupama of food n more had me hooked. i had to give it a shot….

So armed with all that inspiration I set myself up in the kitchen for an early evening baking date….K was still a good couple of hours away and so if I flopped then I could always dump the disaster in my ever forgiving trash can and the chimney would take care of the rest of the traces of my escapade ……

I looked at the recipe that Anupama followed from from Tarla Dalal’s site and just tweaked it as much as I dared(mostly because i didnt have cocoa powder and used a slab of chocolate instead and reduced the amount of condensed milk that the original recipe called for.….the result left me grinning like a Cheshire cat!!

The resultant cake has the consistency of a brownie. Has a very lightly chewy top and moist centre…..the scallops resulted from some of the butter paper that got into the batter!! I wish I had some walnuts to add!! Now that I didn’t muck this up, I will try it again with walnuts!! I gloated over my chat conversation with N, a dear friend of mine who’s also quite the accomplished baker when she isn’t dashing in and out of Boston with her work….she tantalized me today with descriptions of some of the cakes, cookies, brownies and biscotti’s she’s made over the past few years…I promised myself to bum some of the recipes off her…so N watch out!!

The recipe for the chocolate cake is here:

1 ½ cups maida

¾ cup butter

1 cup milk chocolate melted

2/3 cup condensed milk (I used milkmaid)

1 ½ tsp baking powder

100 ml water

1 tsp Vanilla essence (optional)

Preheat the oven at 200 centigrade. Sift the flour with the baking powder a few times. In the microwave oven, I melted the chocolate and butter, 3 mins on medium setting. Keep alert at this time because the chocolate can burn easily. Stir the melted chocolate and butter to mix well. Set aside for 5-10 mins before using as it is very hot at this time. Add the warm melted butter-chocolate mixture to the flour in a mixing bowl. Stir a little. Add the condensed milk and water and mix well. Ensure there are no lumps of flour and the batter is smooth. (I transferred this to my regular blender and pulsed for a couple of minutes as I don’t have a hand mixer and couldn’t manage mixing it with a spoon…my arm was aching ;) !!)

Transfer the batter to a butter paper lined cake tin. Bake in the preheated oven at 200 degrees centigrade for 10 mins and at 180 for 18 mins. Test with a toothpick. If it comes clean then your cake is ready.

I let it stand in the oven for about 10 mins and then took it out. Let it cool on a wire rack for another 15 mins before I sampled a wedge…that’s the one that’s missing in the picture I later took!! Perfect to be served plain or with vanilla ice cream and nuts!!

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

7 responses »

  1. Keep up the good work, bookmarked and referred some friends.

    Reply
  2. hi Arundati,
    it’s for the first time i am visiting this site and i even tried your recipe out but i frankly speak that the colour and essence was fab. but the taste was a little low. it was lacking sweetness. by the way the cake was good for me because i had made it.

    hi shreya, thanks stopping by, your feedback and for trying out the cake….. i think you can marginally increase the amount of sugar….maybe about a couple of tablespoons….. we all have quite a sweet tooth dont we!! ;)

    Reply
  3. Hi Arundati,
    It’s my first time here. I think I found you through Mahanandi.
    Great blog! Love the way you write. Your chocolate cake looks yummy!. I will be back later to read some more!

    welcome and thank you for your encouragement!! It’d be lovely to have you drop by……. :)

    Reply
  4. Awesome cake!!!!! And too good for a first try!!! :) You should have added that dash of coffee in it…… It would have been heavenly I am sure ;)
    i’m planning an encore to make sure i don’t forget the coffee this time…

    Reply
  5. Nice cake you have here…when I want to eat cake I bake an eggless black forest one…
    srivalli
    http://www.cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com

    Dear Srivalli…thanks….i’m taking baby baking steps…eggless black forest sounds divine!!

    Reply
  6. There you go now…over the baking wall as well! Great looking cake, Arundati!

    Dear Anita, avant garde baker and kind and encouraging too… :)

    Reply
  7. 1 cup milk chocolate? now that cake’s gotta be scrumptious. i’m tempted to try a lower fat version of this with dark chocolate.

    dear bee….. i think dark chocolate will be awesome….you know how it is when you want a chocolate cake desperately enough and all you have is a slab of milk chocolate languishing and hoping for moksha!! i wanted to add a spoon of instant coffee but forgot!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

