RSS Feed

Baking Escapade # 3 ~ Recipe for Eggless Butter Cookies

Posted on

buttery cookies

I didn’t think I would do it…but I did!! Baked another something because I was feeling lousy about not having pictures for my previous post!! That’s back to back baking!! I hope the euphoria remains!! For a baking dud like me, this is like having passed the board exams with a distinction!! The net results are far better than yesterday’s effort that I was crowing about in the previous post…..i feel like taking small steps towards climbing that mountain called baking which from childhood I was told is where the ogre lives!! I am a terrible procrastinator and most of the excuse I make for being so is that the task is very difficult and I will need all my ‘time and energy’ to tackle it. When you finally get down to doing it, you realize that it was made difficult by just your imagination….by no stretch of imagination am I trying to say that baking is easy…far from it…but its challenging enough not to take the fun out of it….and boy!! am i having fun or what…i just love the way the kitchen fills up with the lovely smells….and no i don’t rush to switch on the chimney for once….I have also discovered something…..unlike cooking (which you may slave over for hours together) baking is an absolute attention grabber!! The incredible “you made this” look is to die for!! and this time I altered a few things in the tart recipe from here. Only as much as I dared. The result is about 30-35 cookies.

the original recipe is from Tarla dalal’s cookbook called Eggless Desserts, it can also be found here.

ingredients:
1 cup butter (chilled but soft enough to cut into small squares)

2 cups maida (sifted)

3 tbsp oats

2 ½ tbsp powdered sugar

A pinch of salt

2 tspn cold water

Rub the maida into the butter with finger tips. Add the sugar, salt and oats and combine well. Add the 2 tspn cold water and make into a dough. Do not knead. Cover with clingfilm or foil and refrigerate for 20 mins. While the dough sits in the fridge, preheat oven to 200 degrees C. roll out the dough to about ¼ th of an inch thickness. Cut out into desired shapes. Prick with a fork. Place on a baking tray and bake for 10 minutes till the edges are just turning golden brown. Cool thoroughly on a wire rack before storing in an air tight container…if they last this long that is….the aroma of fresh baked cookies and their buttery melt in your mouth texture wont allow them this far though…be warned!! Enjoy with a steaming cup of coffee or tea.


About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

6 responses »

  1. Oh, they look delicious! I’ll definitely have to try cooking them. I’m a 14-year-old girl with a deadly egg allergy, but I love food and baking. It’s hard finding a decent eggless recipe (I remember my preschool class spit out the eggless cake my mother tried to make!). I’ll definitely have to try this.

    Reply
  2. Hi Anu…It’s quite unfortunate that I see just the digital versions of these cookies in all shapes and almost of the same size. Had I been there, I would have been a chosen-amnesiac of etiquette and popped into your ‘bake’ry and popped in these cutie…cutie ones. They look so lovely. I am glad that I have not been aware of this facet of yours. But for that I would not have been blessed with this amount of surprise. I LOVE surprises.

    Beware…this time, when the calling bell rings, it might be ‘the hungry me.’

    you’re welcome anytime…hungry you!!

    Reply
  3. I saw the comment from Tarla Dalal team in yr previous post.. Gr8 job!

    i was so surprised….thanks :)

    Reply
  4. Hello ! Been reading couple of your posts……and I like the way you articulate your thoughts….its quite refreshing ! Keep it up!
    Shn
    thank you very much Shn :)

    Reply
  5. you’re having fun, so why not. all your creations look fabulous.
    dear bee….my sentiments exactly…about the fun bit!! thanks a tonne

    Reply
  6. Thats a super spree!!!!!! You are on a baking marathon I must say! :) These cookies are too good to try…… theres nothing like the smell of baking cookies filling the whole house!! :)

    Dear Coffee…there was a time when i would toast cinnamon and star anise to fill the house with the smell of baking stuff!! try the cookies, they are unbelievably simple!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

