RSS Feed

Arusuvai…seemed to take forever ~Payar Mathan Recipe (Green Gram and Red Pumpkin Curry)

Posted on

payarmathan1.jpg

It wont help you calling me names….i have already done more of that than you can actually imagine…..called myself many of those unimaginable and also offered my head on a platter to srivalli if she cares for it…… lamented over my lack of time management, choice of work, etc etc…..ok, why am I ranting?? Because I inadvertently became the spoke in the friendship chain…or rather the spoke in the wheel of the friendship chain…if that makes better sense…

In December, after many emails back and forth and heated arguments with the courier agency (who I thought were withholding what was mine), I received my package from Renuka Gauthaman…this lovely lady from trichy was extending her hand in friendship to me….and I was so excited about the whole thing….that I think the anticipation did me in….wow!! didn’t know that I could use that too!! its just that it came at a time that I was so busy….working, travelling, festivals, commitments etc and blogging or the lack of it wasn’t the first thing on my mind….. srivalli patiently sent me emails gently enquiring when I could post and forward the chain and I kept giving her dates I didn’t keep…. Even the ones who I was supposed to forward the chain to, gingerly enquired….. to say that I felt pressure is an understatement…and no I am not blaming any of my blogger friends….. its just that the timing was all so wrong and I didn’t have the right frame of mind to get down to this…infact with me hardly being around, the kitchen at home was actually “shutter down”…… the more delayed this got, the more guilty I felt….to be fair, this isn’t the only thing that was at the receiving end…. If you take one look at the washed clothes that need to be ironed….or the state of my provisions….or my balcony garden…..or even my nerves!! You will know….

Anyways, I am about to set that right…. When I chose to make this dish out of my secret ingredient which was whole moongdal….i went through a few books and shortlisted a few dishes…then I saw RCI Kerala and I thought of just the right thing for my whole moong dal….also a favourite of K’s but one which I had never attempted at home…always at friends places, or amma makes it for us…..payar mathan…. Ofcourse that I never posted and missed not just RCI Kerala but also legume love affair and comfort food events…is ofcourse another story….

legumefinal.jpgi emailed the lovely Susan because i realised i’d posted before the 9th of feb, she graciously asked me to send it in….so this goes out to her…. she said she already has about 108 entries…!! this is one round up no one should miss!!

So here it is then….. my ode to this friendship chain of Arusuvai….started by the lovely ladies at Yum food blog…..arusuvai.gif

I am sending off the secret ingredient (finally) to Deeba and Gaurav!! Watch out for the courier guy!! I hope you have better luck than I did…and apologies to everyone who went on hold because of me…. Sorry!! And hail this friendship chain!!

Payar mathan recipe (recipe courtesy my friend S)

1 cup whole payar (I used whole moong dal, lobia works good too) soaked for a few hours in water, boiled soft (not mashed) with a pinch of turmeric and salt

2 cups cubed yellow pumpkin (without the skin), boiled with salt to taste and turmeric

Masala:

4 T grated fresh coconut

½ t jeera

1 green chilly (or more, depending on your preference)

2-3 shallots (or 3 T chopped cubed onion)

Tempering:

1 t oil

½ t mustard seeds

A sprig of curry leaves

1-2 dry red chilies

Method:

Grind the masala with little water to a thick paste

Add the pumpkin to the boiled beans. Heat through. Add the ground masala and mix well. Add a sprig of curry leaves. When it is just coming to the boil add a teaspoon of coconut oil and remove from heat

In a pan, heat a teaspoon of oil. Add the mustard seeds, crackle, red chili and curry leaves. Add this tempering to the curry. Serve hot with rice and sambhar. Also goes well with rotis (but the mallus will scoff at this combination!!)

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

11 responses »

  1. Hi Arundati,
    Great to see your post after the confusions.You have a nice blog and I’ll try the simple bakes of yours

    thanks renuka…..please do and let me know how they turn out!!

    Reply
  2. Love the dish.
    And i would say better late then never.

    thanks hc!!

    Reply
  3. LOL..Yes ,Arundati you were the first to drop in to be intersted to have the ing…and last to post..So what??? you have come up with a great curry!Haven’t you??Worth waiting for your post!..I am peeping in once in two days to check whether you have posted :)
    I absolutelyyy love this.Puurfect curry here…We call this “mathan erusseri” in Kerala and use red grams too :)

    Hugs for passing over to two bloggers!!!
    Sorry I had confused you more than enough :)
    Glad to note that you enjoyed being a part!!(even after our pesters :))

    hey bharathy…its all in the game… and it was great nonetheless…..

    Reply
  4. Good use of the ingredient! Don’t force yourself…the fun is lost then…

    thanks for the encouragement rachel….totally agree….

    Reply
  5. AHA…Arundati…shall I say very good indeed!! Am so glad you posted it & will take a little credit for pestering you (not so gently ) as you wrote! Sorry to have made your life miserable by asking sooooooooo many times…curiosity knows no bounds!!! Great one & thanks for sending me your favourite spice…I REALLY LOVED IT. Has been great talking to you too.:0) Deeba

    could’nt agree with you more…am glad that one way or the other i finally made “realtime” contact with you!!

    Reply
  6. Everything about blogging should be fun, never a obligation.That’s what I would say!:))
    But you did it, recipe sounds nice Arundati. Enjoy the friendship chain.

    i couldnt agree with you more!!

    Reply
  7. Glad you finally got down to fixing the break in the chain!
    I kinda had the same experience. I waited for my packet and when it came took me about 3 weeks to make and post something. But alls well that ends well, they say.

    yes aparna…am i glad too or what!! mine would’ve easily made it to 3 months!!

    Reply
  8. Phew….I understand coz I myself went thru a mean time when I had to do my reciepe for the Chain, n there was so much guilt engulfing me…but all’s well that end’s well……so dont worry

    thanks a ton shella….you took the words right out of my mouth….. phew!!

    Reply
  9. Simple,nice and healthy recipe.

    glad you liked it lakshmi!!

    Reply
  10. wow..arundati…thats great..I am so sorry for being such a pester..I know i hinted it so many times, that I was feeling really bad..and worse was finally pinging you and found it was your hubby…I almost thought I will ask him to forward that packet to others…hehehehe…hope he wasn’t offended by my pinging him…that dish looks yum…finally I now have a recipe for Payar kerala style…thanks once again!

    yeah he told me….he would’nt have known the first thing about the parcels!! men are from mars you see….but anyway….i am so happy that i finally did it!!

    Reply
  11. Hi, just stumbled upon your blog while surfing food blogs (something I find myself spending a lot of time doing nowadays) and found your post on how you started blogging very inspiring..I love baking and have been drooling over your posts on that. But I have a problem, which I’m hoping you can solve – I too live in Hyderabad, but I’m new here, and I’ve been hunting for baking paraphernalia, like butter paper, cookie cutters, muffin molds, cake tins, and such stuff, but can’t seem to find them anyway..Where do you buy your equipment from? Also, I have a microwave/convection oven, not an OTG, so I was wondering how to adapt the recipes for it? Any advice from you side would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

    hi karishma, thanks for stopping by and for the kind words…. its been a while now since i got some of that…. i have sent you a detailed email…. cheers!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

