RSS Feed

Tossed Vegetable and Rigatoni Pasta Recipe

Posted on

Ever since I began working from home, lunches consist of leftovers, or something quickly put together…..minus all the fuss, sometimes I continue working as I eat at the computer…..

err…no this is’nt a claim to an authentic pasta recipe…….on a break just before lunchtime, I chanced upon Aparna’s fabulous pasta salad…..just as I was going over the ingredients and other details of the recipe the power shut off…..all that remained in my mind, was how the dish looked….i came up with this, which is nothing like what Aparna made…..but she was my inspiration nonetheless….So this is my lunch of a few days ago…..the truly Forgotten way!!

It’s a filling meal for one……i tend to overload on the veggies to bulk up the dish and cut out carbs…..it helps me get my full serving of veggies without having anyone turn up their nose at me or painfully pick out the stuff they wont eat (if you haven’t realized by now that k can be a painfully fussy eater…then now you know)…..

this is off to Ammalu’s Kitchen for her herb mania – basil

for this pasta dish

1 T EVOO

1 c boiled pasta (I used rigatoni)

1 ½ c mixed veggies of choice ( I used carrots, cauliflower, peas, red and yellow peppers)

2 T roughly chopped onion

Salt and pepper to taste

1 tomato roughly chopped

1 t dried oregano

6-8 fresh thai basil leaves, torn

2 pods garlic, sliced

Put the carrots, cauliflower and peas in a bowl with 2 T of water and cook on high in the microwave oven for 4 minutes ( or more if you don’t like the cauliflower crunchy)

Heat the EVOO, add the sliced garlic and toss, add the onions and fry for a couple of minutes till turning translucent. Add the steamed veggies, tomatoes, peppers and basil leaves and toss around the pan on high for a few minutes, till the tomatoes just begin to soften. Add the cooked pasta, oregano, salt and pepper and stir till well incorporated. (You can add cream or cheese at this stage, but I didn’t).serve.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

5 responses »

  1. this looks delicious. i will definitely try it out!!!

    Reply
  2. That looks so tasty! I don’t eat much pasta but this looks like a keeper!

    Reply
  3. what better way to use all those left vegetables in fridge :) and i too add more veggies than rice/pasta in most of the dishes not just to avoid high carb intake but also i enjoy eating them. adds colour, flavour and lots of nutriotion

    Reply
  4. My colleagues always ask me if I add pasta to the veggies or veggies to the pasta… well :-)

    Looks lovely

    Reply
  5. This looks pretty good, Arundati. I actually like my pasta dry this way without any sauce.
    Yes, it is a filling one dish meal without a carbs overload.
    Mine was only different in some marinated and baked paneer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

