RSS Feed

Gajar ka Halwa Recipe

Posted on

Sometime ago, I visited my aunt and uncle who live close to where I do….my aunt wasn’t keeping well and had undergone some surgery…..i visited with some food to save them the cooking of a couple of meals….the surgery was unexpected and they had a fridge full of vegetables that they were in no mood to cook, and so when I returned home, half of the stuff from their vegetable tray was in a bag I was carrying back!!

What does one do with almost two kilos of carrots?? Make gajar ka halwa of course…..this is the first time I have made this….always was lucky enough to have a friend or neighbor send me a share….P, who gave me the recipe to make chole was the one who kept me regularly supplied with it! and I remember her telling me that all one had to do was cook the grated carrots in milk till it was almost dry and then add the sugar and elaichi…..well too good to be true eh?? But that’s exactly what I did and ended up with this!! I have a terrible sweet tooth, but cannot eat cloyingly sweet stuff….preferring sweets that are mildly sweetened….i don’t see myself making this unless I have a food processor or someone else to grate the carrots, my arm ached and didn’t allow me to forget that it grated a tone of carrots till I rubbed it down with my cure for all aches, balm!! We enjoyed it warm and then straight from the fridge for as long as it lasted

Gajar ka halwa (makes about 8 servings)

6 c grated fresh carrot

½ litre milk (I used low fat)

4 T sugar

1 T ghee

2 T raisins and cashews

3 green cardamoms

In a microwave safe bowl, add the milk and grated carrots and cook on high for 8-10 minutes. Place the cooked carrot mixture in a non stick pan or kadai and simmer on low heat till the liquid is almost dry. Powder the sugar and cardamoms in a blender and add it to the cooked carrots, mix well to incorporate. Taste and check for sweetness, adding more sugar if you would like. In another small vessel, heat the ghee and fry the raisins and cashews till light golden and add to the cooked carrot mixture. Enjoy warm or cold according to preference.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

11 responses »

  1. oh…………………….itz look delish it is my fav dish i like to come in ur hotel thank u

    Reply
  2. oh..this is my fav sweet!! :) your recipe seems real simple..i shall try it out!!! :) thank you!!

    Reply
  3. Gajar ka halwa is such a fav ..
    Yummy !!

    Reply
  4. I really must try this one day. It seems simple enough to make.

    Hope your aunt is recovering well.

    Reply
  5. I just love this, Arundati, and I’m waiting for January when you get the sweeter variety of carrots.
    I make this in huge quantities and freeze it. :)

    Reply
  6. Its been ages since I saw orange coloured halwa… it is obvious I don’t make it at all :-)

    “all one had to do was cook the grated carrots in milk till it was almost dry” this is more work than lazy me can take on :-)

    Reply
  7. I am just not able to resist drooling over the pic… looks wonderful!!!

    Reply
  8. Looks wonderful. I’ve been looking for one of those handy slicers before I get RSI from grating carrots from this recipe! Amazed that you used so little ghee…

    Reply
  9. Looks heavenly Arundati..I too have this in my blog..made the same way..

    Reply
  10. Gajar ka halwa is a sweet that is cooked on regular basis in my home,but during winter season only…coz thats when we get red juicy carrots.I tried to make halwa with orange carrots but i must admit it was no where close to the actual taste of halwa.Urs look really good…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

