RSS Feed

The Return of Recycle Rani – Rasam Soup ~ Indian Style Soup Recipe

Posted on

The picture is a bit hazy….but the flavours of this one are anything but!! they are full bodied!!

For k, rasam is “sick food” to be had when you are really under the weather…..and for me….i can eat rasam and rice practivally every day…..problem is on the rare occasions that I make rasam, it remains in the fridge for a couple of days…..even in the smallest of quantities, I cant seem to finish it…..and my loathing for wasteage is legendary………a couple of things from the pantry and I was slurping on the most surprisingly wonderful soup!!

I don’t think this will be made again only if I have some leftover rasam for the soup…..with some rasam powder on hand, this can be whipped up anytime…..and with the rains coming on full blast here…..this is perfect food for this time of the year…throw in some boiled pasta…or pair it with some crusty bread….and dinner is served!!

For the rasam – Makes 3 cups

Rasam powder: 2 T coriander seeds, 1 t cumin seeds, 6-7 peppercorns –dry roast these and crush ina blender jar till It becomes a coarse powder.

2 c water

1 ½ c ripe tomatoes, cut in cubes

2 pods garlic

2-3 T fresh coriander leaves

½ c tamarind extract

1 slit green chilly

Add the tomatoes, garlic and coriander leaves and whizz a few seconds till it gets roughly crushed. Add this to the water, add the tamarind extract, salt to taste and the slit green chili and bring to the boil. Simmer for 10 minutes, stirring a couple of times till the tomatoes have turned to mush. Temper with curry leaves, cumin and mustard seeds in ½ t oil and serve hot with rice.

For the soup – Makes 2 cups

2 cups rasam

2-3 T tomato puree

Twist of lime

¼ t freshly ground pepper

Chopped Celery / mint / coriander for garnish

Blend the rasam in a liquidizer and pass it through a sieve, discarding the solids and reserving the liquid. Mix the tomato puree with this liquid and simmer for 3-4 mins, add the pepper and simmer for another couple of minutes. Add the lime juice, garnish with celery / mint / coriander and serve

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

18 responses »

  1. no dal? i love those kind of rasams. whenever i want rasam, i don’t have cooked dal handy and i don’t make it. i love this recipe.

    Reply
  2. Wow, I never knew we can make this delicious looking soup with left over rasam or rasam powder. ..great innovation :)

    Reply
  3. I’m with K here. I don’t like rasam, probably because it would be offered as a cure for everything when one had the fever and the last thing you wanted then was food!
    But my daughter thinks its ambrosia. She will eat it with rice and then drink some more out of a glass!
    From what I’ve seen, there are rasam lovers and rasam haters. I’m yet to meet a lukewarm response to rasm, one way or the other.:)

    Reply
  4. What a great mind…we think alike re. rasam and ginger cookies and rainy days.
    Love the idea of rasam soup.
    When I feel I’m getting sick I make a HUGE pot of rasam, and a huge pot of rice…mix both, portion it out and freeze in small containers.
    Now with my microwaveable instant meals ready, I can let the bugs get me and relax.

    Reply
  5. I’m going to heat up the dhal I have in my fridge right now :)

    Reply
  6. I just love tomato soup! can’t wait to try this amazing version!

    Reply
  7. I discovered Rasam when I got a neverending cold earlier this year. It was like magic! Loving Recycle Rani. Have you been on the Leftover Queen blog?

    Reply
  8. That is a neat idea…

    Reply
  9. u know what i loved the most, the title ;)
    return of recycle rani… LOL :D

    Reply
  10. Recycle Rani??? I like that name :-))

    Reply
  11. Yeah yeah! S doesn’t like rasam… and I really climb the stairway to heaven with one mouthful of rasam saadam… but we never have leftovers… I eat and I drink… eat some more, drink some more… get the picture?? :-)

    Reply
  12. Rasam is my all time favorite too! I can eat rasam with potato chips and rice (dunk the chips in rasam and have them. they were delicious) every day in a year. Tomato rasam is my favorite. I have a 5 min rasam recipe in my blog. Amma makes it in just 5 mins without having the rasam powder too!

    Reply
  13. Have some rasam in my fridge..Thanks for the idea Arundati..

    Reply
  14. Nice way to use up the leftover rasam! the rasam soup looks so delicious and what a novel idea!

    Reply
  15. hmmm,..this looks delicious,,,;-)

    Reply
  16. This looks really interesting – it’s making me hungry just to look at it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

