RSS Feed

Baking Escapades # 18 – Cheese and Tomato Muffins (Savoury) Recipe

Posted on

cheesetomatomuffin

i havent baked for about 3 months now…that’s a huge gap….for a while, i didnt feel like it, because K was refusing to eat anything that i baked (other than pizza…. oh!! and also the orange zest vanilla cupcakes…but i wont mention that) he says he is fed up of the house smelling like a bakery and sometimes feels he comes home to a bakery worker…. yeah i know….he’s weird…. most people i know, love the smells of freshly baked stuff ….they love it even better when their homes smell like that….they would be jumping up and down ecstatically and doing cartwheels to be married to someone who can make the house smell like a bakery….and / or make chocolate… but dont tell me i havent warned you already that K isnt your average joe….infact he isnt your average anything…so lets just say, with no ready consumers, and me closely watching the expanding waistline, I didn’t bake for a while….that just set a pattern. I would blog hop and salivate at all the wonderful baked stuff bloggers were turning out and rue my crappy state…of mind mostly!!

cheesetomatomuffin3

Then when I did decide to get off my behind and bake, my oven conked off……I wonder if anyone becomes like a bear with a sore head when an appliance conks off…. I had….the bear bit!! With countless calls made to the service centre, a couple of times when my oven was taken to be “repaired” and many days of whining….the oven was back…and just in time…. I was a (not so) Daring Baker and just had a few days to finish my first challenge….. that done…I was back in the baking groove…..amma’s still here…and it broke my heart to cut her a sliver of the wonderfully decadent Caramel Cake…she ofcourse, as all sweet denied people, loved it….i decided to put her out of her misery and make something savoury for a change…….

cheesetomatomuffin1

I had bought myself this Muffin Bible a few months ago……K was buying a tonne of books for himself and I wanted to buy something too…..i hadn’t turned its pages since I bought it…..its got a pretty exhaustive list of muffins, savoury and sweet……I had a small slab of cheddar cheese which I wanted to use, plus some of amma’s home made tomato sauce…so the minute I saw Cheese and tomato Layer Muffins, I knew I was making this……

cheesetomatomuffin4

What I loved about this recipe was it was so easy to put together. From start to finish (quite literally since we polished them off straight out of the oven) it took 25 minutes including baking time. This is an ideal muffin for breakfast, or tea……very flavourful with the cheese and tomato sauce coming together wonderfully….K was delighted with the savoury muffins… he said some very nice things to me which for bashfulness I shall not write here….

Try this one, even if you’ve never baked before….non vegetarians can add shopped sausages which am sure will go well with the flavours, or bits of ham….i am going to be making these again and again….the next time with some fresh basil thrown in!!

Cheese and Tomato Layer Muffins (makes 12 standard muffins)

1 egg

¾ c water

2 c self raising flour (I used ½ t baking powder for 1 c APF)

½ t salt

1 ½ c grated cheddar cheese

¾ c tomato cooking sauce (I used 1 t per muffin)

this was homemade sauce that i used, blanched tomatoes, blended to a sauce and cooked till it thickens, salt to taste

Method 

Preheat oven to 200 C.

In a mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients except the tomato sauce till just combined. Line the muffin pans with paper liners. It is a good idea to add a drop of oil at the bottom of the liner. I don’t know if this has to do with the quality of the paper, the first batch firmly stuck onto the liners which was much better in the second batch cos I dropped a bit of oil in each liner. Spoon in a small amount of batter, spoon in about a teaspoon of the tomato sauce. Cover with another spoonful of the muffin batter, such that the tomato sauce is covered; making sure that the batter is about 2/3 full in each depression of the muffin pan.

Bake for 12-14 mins at 200 C. test with a skewer for doneness. Cool on a wire rack. Serve while still warm.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

16 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sesame Noodles and Vegetables in Manchurian Sauce « Escapades

  2. Pingback: Baking Escapade # 19 - Whole Wheat Mushroom, Spinach and Caramelised Onion Muffins « Escapades

  3. Looks so nice and fluffy for something so cheesy. Yum.

    Reply
  4. K knows which side his bread is buttered dahling. Let’s get to the point, Ms Bashful…what words did he utter post muffins? I love the muffins too…all that cheese is singing to me. Amma’s gone back?

    Reply
  5. this looks really yummy….will definitely try ….

    Reply
  6. Aru, this is quite innovative…I must try….guess microwave is functioning to its fullest potential…lol :)

    Reply
  7. oh so here they are! :-) lol – ignore my email! looks delicious!

    Reply
  8. I love the smell of bakery, especially the aroma of bread. The first picture is to die for!

    Reply
  9. Wow! beautiful layers. never saw layered muffins before. Cool.

    Reply
  10. delicious !!! pic looks really good

    chakali

    Reply
  11. look s yummy..bookmarked.

    glad you liked it!! drop me a line when you try them out!

    Reply
  12. Wow this looks really yummy. Yeah i am surprised to hear your hubby don’t like the smell of baking, mine just love it especially when i bake bread.

    Reply
  13. Arundati, this is my kind of muffin. Give me one of these anyday instead of cake or cookies.
    Love the way the muffin in the 3rd pic looks.
    I just saw the “night” pics with your posts. They look good.

    Reply
  14. Looks awesome n muffins makes me hunger…

    Reply
  15. I’ll make this sometime… I know I will ;-)

    i know all that cheese has brainwashed you!! they were superb!! even if i say so myself!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

