RSS Feed

Cheater’s Dahi Vada

Posted on

cheatersdahivada

There’s this nifty little kitchen utensil called the appa patra…. The jugal bandits use their’s extensively….so does my namesake….see her version of no fry pakoras… and nupur dished out this kofta curry from the same kind of pan…needless to say, this caught my fancy, so the last time amma visted….she bought me this pan…I for one am on a ‘not buying anything unless my life depends on it’ mode….so when amma said she wanted to buy me a gift, I said ok…why not buy me something I really want instead of clothes..or anything else…. That’s how I got my appa patra

Ever since I got it, I have been making some kind of stuff in it…the fact that they haven’t featured here is testimony to the fact that they didn’t make it to the photographs!! the easiest is to make use of souring idly batter, add chopped onions, green chillies, curry leaves and cumin seeds and make appey…. Instantly, some sooji / Bombay rava mixed with curd and baking soda and spices too will do the trick.

I made dahi vadas. With batter made from 2 cups of dal soaked for 4 hours, we got about 35 small vadas. Most of them we ate as is, with chutney and sauce…the rest I dunked in yogurt and added seasoning.This one is not going to cheat you of the smooth and creamy texture of the original deep fried version…its going to be your favourite if you like dahi vadas purely because the whole thing gets made in less than 4 T of oil… how great is that??

While the fried ones aren’t as crisp as they deep fried versions, this is the only compromise you will have to make. Taste wise they’re the same. this is a great way to have your favourite foods minus the extra calories ofcourse. for the original deep fried version of the same thing, look here.

this is my entry to Valli’s My Legume Love Affair – Seventh Helping which she is guest hosting. it is the brainchild of the Well Seasoned Cook – Susan

cheatersdahivada1

Cheater’s Dahi Vada (makes about 18 vadas)

Time taken: 15 mins to cook, 4 hrs of soaking

Ingredients:

1 c skinned whole urad dal, soaked for 4 hours and ground with ¼ c water to a buttery batter

2 T finely chopped onion

2 green chillies, finely chopped

4-5 black pepper, crushed coarsely

1 t cumin seeds

5-6 curry leaves, chopped fine

Salt to taste

3 T oil

2 c yoghurt, whisked to remove lumps

A pinch of salt (remember the vadas are already salted)

 

For the tempering:

1 t oil, ½ t mustard seeds, 1 T urad dal, 2 dry red chillies, A few curry leaves

In a bowl, mix together the urad dal batter with the cumin seeds, crushed pepper, green chillies, curry leaves and onions. Heat the appa patra on medium heat, put ½ teaspoon of oil in each of the depressions.

With a spoon, spoon in a dollop of the vada batter into each of the depressions. Fry them for a few minutes and using a fork or a spoon, turn them over and fry for another few minutes. If you want them crisp, use smaller dollops and increase the oil in the slots of the appa patra to a tablespoon each.

(The vadas can be eaten at this stage as is, with chutney, sauce or sambhar / rasam) if you want dahi vadas, read further.

Dunk the fried vadas into 2 cups of warm water and let them sit there for a couple of minutes. Retrieve and plunge them into the whisked yoghurt.

In a small pan, heat the oil for tempering, splutter the mustard seeds, fry the urad dal till golden, fry the red chillies till they change colour and add the curry leaves and fry till they are crisp. Spoon this onto the yoghurt. Chill for 30 minutes before serving.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

18 responses »

  1. Pingback: Shikampuri Kebab (Veg) – with Soy Nuggets ~ Almost the real thing! « Escapades

  2. Pingback: Sesame Noodles and Vegetables in Manchurian Sauce « Escapades

  3. Pingback: Super Salad « Escapades

  4. Thats sure is a neat way to make aru..looks great..but you won’t be find me making it this way..heheh..no fun girl!

    Reply
  5. Nice Vadaas! A little similar to mine… Pictures look very inviting…

    Reply
  6. I don’t care if you cheated. I want some! :)

    Reply
  7. hi..

    That is a great dish.. I must confess I never liked the normal uzhunnu vadas bcoz they always seem to be full of oil.. I don’t like puris or baturas for the same reason… But Dahi vadas get my full marks.. and your method looks a lot better…
    I dont have an appa pathram… I have seen only unni appams made in those..till now, that is…!!

    Reply
  8. Cheaters Dahi Wada….Aww nice name.But i am sure its not cheating to ur tastebuds.Looks tempting so must have tasted well too.

    Reply
  9. Aaaaaaaaaahh…& the cheater has stood up. Yum yum…thoguh a little oil doesn’t hurt once in a while, I like the sound of this ‘machine’ you use. Now I shall go & follow your link to this magic appa patra thingy!! xoxoxo

    Reply
  10. yummy looking thayir vada… therez no cheating in it. Its infact a healthier option. Lovely clicks!

    Reply
  11. Cheaters Thayir vada..nay those are the no-cheating vadas,as in they dont cheat you with the taste and leave you with a pang of guilt..I’ll gobble up a dozen of these without a hint of guilt!!Had been planning since long to make these..and then malai koftas in the appey pan…still planning..have to execute soon!!

    Reply
  12. Awesome!

    I am sorry if this sounds like a silly question. Would it be possible to use a regular muffin mold and use a baking oven to make the pakodas?

    Reply
  13. vada’s looks very delicious & healthy too

    Reply
  14. Idon’t have these pans.
    Next time i have to buy one .
    Vada looks so yumm.

    Reply
  15. It’s available in US too, a Danish make, they call it an Aebleskiver pan. Making vada is new to me, must try once. Looks great! :))

    Reply
  16. I make only neiyappams (paniyarams) in mine even though I’ve seen lots of other stuff made in it. I should put my kaaral to better use. :)

    Btw, I don’t call cutting down on oil cheating. That’s going healthy! :D

    Reply
  17. y’know i make kuzhi paniharams and even this unusual egg curry using that chatti. i love it now – its a great gift!

    Reply
  18. I made my instant tayir vadai in the appey patra too… after the thing burst on my face… but my vadais were brown :) I woner why

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

