RSS Feed

Sweet Potato Palya Recipe

Posted on

I can’t remember when and where I first ate sweet potato in a savoury dish. I can tell you this is one vegetable I would hardly miss if I didn’t see it for the next 10 years!! K on the other hand, loves it. and after a long time I picked it up with the weekly vegetable supply. It sat there patiently till I ran out of everything else, and forced by circumstance I had to cook it for dinner one night.

sweetpotato1

This is a vegetable that will surprise you as it did surprise me! The mildly sweet flavour actually grows on you. I wont mind cooking it occasionally. While I would prefer to make wedges or bake it, k really loves it as a side dish with rotis. I kept the preparation really simple, not adding too many flavours and spices so that the flavour of the sweet potato really comes through.

Sweet potato sabzi (serves 2)

2 c sweet potato, boiled, skinned and cubed

2 T onions finely chopped

1 slit green chilly

1 t mustard seeds

A few curry leaves

½ t coriander powder

¼ t ginger garlic paste

Pinch of turmeric

Salt to taste

1 T oil

2 T fresh coriander leaves, chopped

In a pan, heat the oil, splutter the mustard seeds, add the curry leaves and toast till crisp. Add the chopped onions and green chillies, when translucent, add the ginger garlic paste and sauté till cooked. Add all the ingredients except the coriander leaves, and sauté for a couple of minutes. Add ½ a cup of water and cook till everything is well incorporated and the water dries up. Add the fresh coriander leaves, and serve hot with rotis.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

10 responses »

  1. Hey Anu,

    The layout appears fine at my home PC. Maybe its an issue with my PC at office…wanted to let you know.

    Reply
  2. Nice recipe..I love sweet potatoes..Thanks for sharing this recipe.Will try soon :)

    Reply
  3. Good one ra. Last weekend Selina add palak in it and Kevin loved it.

    Reply
  4. Great recipe…..We also add it in sambar and my mom makes a yum gravy( pulusu) with it. I too love its subtle flavor.
    Hey Anu, the layout of escapades seems a bit distorted. I dont know if its only me who sees it. But there are huge blank spaces on the top of each post.
    Take care.

    Rupa… am sure it tastes great in pulusu….thanks for the feedback…will check…

    Reply
  5. A perfect comfort food! yummy

    Reply
  6. I like sweet potato too.. but I just boil it whole, slice it round, then make a spicy chutney to dip .. hmm I will post that !!

    Reply
  7. I love sweet potato…this is a great simple recipe.

    Reply
  8. Back at home we used to eat them bolied in the skin and then remove the cooked skin before we at it.
    Made like this , i think i would have prefered this than the boiled once.

    Reply
  9. I never used to like sweet potatoes much, but my husband does. I have come to appreciate it over the years and this vegetable makes for very good oven baked fries and stuffed parathas too.

    Reply
  10. Nice recipe…and lovely tempting picture..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

