RSS Feed

Jeera Rice – Cumin Tempered Rice Recipe (Pressure Cooker Method)

Posted on

jeera rice

Jeera rice is something my brother loves. He most likely will always order this, especially if it is at a Dhaba or a place that serves punjabi style food. I’ve been largely agnostic to this one. I make it sometimes when i feel it will pair well with the other items on the menu or at times when I am running on “zilch” in the vegetables department! This is a one pot rice dish that is adequate with just a raita on the side, or a nice vegetable side dish if you are feeling particularly domestically inclined. I’ve always made Jeera rice like a pulav for the sake of convenience. When ordered at a restaurant, i always see it made like a fried rice (cooked rice added to seasonings) which has a nuttier taste.

Jeera Rice / Pulav (Serves 2)

1 cup long grained rice ( i used sona masoori), washed and soaked in water for 5-10 mins

1 large onion, sliced thin

2 green chillies, slit lenghtwise

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

8-10 curry leaves

salt to taste

2 cups water

for the tempering:

2 small sticks of cinnamon, 2-3 cloves, 2 green cardamom, 1 tsp black cumin/ shahi jeera, 1 tsp cumin / jeera

2 Tablespoons refined oil

Method:

In a pressure cooker (or heavy bottomed pan), heat the oil and add the whole spices for the tempering and saute till aromatics. Add the sliced onion and green chillies and curry leaves and fry till the onions turn golden. Add the ginger garlic paste and fry till the raw smell reduces. Drain the soaking rice and add to the pan. stir gently and fry for a couple of minutes till the rice is well coated with the spices. add the salt and the 2 cups of water and bring to a boil (do not stir too much). Close the lid of the cooker and cook for 2 whistles. if not using a pressure cooker, cover with a well fitted lid and cook till the water is absorbed and the rice is cooked through (about 7-10 minutes). Allow the pressure to release. Fluff with a fork and serve hot with raita or a gravy vegetable side dish.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: How to make jeera rice | Cook like a Bong

  2. Hi Arundati,
    I added this post of your on my “Further Redaing” column for jeera rice post. I hope you don’t mind that. Please do let me know if you want to remove the link from the post

    Reply
  3. Nice click! looks yummy.

    Reply
  4. I liked your blog very much. I appreciate for the wonderful presentation. Jeera rice looks yummy and delicious.
    You are welcome in my blogs.

    Reply
  5. Easy to make , but high on taste and flavour ! One small addition i make is using star-anise for flavouring

    Reply
  6. Simple and satisfying!

    Reply
  7. Pressure cooker pulao saves so much time..:).I make this when I am help up for time during a party:).

    Reply
  8. This is one of those dishes that’s been on my to-make list for quite sometime now. Don’t know why I haven’t gotten around to it.

    Reply
  9. yummmm!!!! I love jeera rice. Amma used to always send this in my dabba to school

    Reply
  10. I too make this rice..looks great..

    Reply
  11. I make this a lot too.. it is very easy and great with any gravy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

