RSS Feed

Healthier Route to a Sugar Craving – Eggless Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins Recipe

Posted on

Yes that’s a mouthful and no I couldn’t help it. I was craving sugar and I knew that i had to be sensible about it. So I looked into Cyberspace and found this recipe which i tweaked a bit. I forgot to add the egg and realised I’d inadvertently made it eggless! I sold it to K telling him to think of it as a great way to eat Oats porridge! He loved it and i did too and this is my first attempt at baking with Oats. I’ve been reading and bookmarking so many recipes, but it took one hell of a sugar craving and a really rainy beautiful afternoon for me to make these. These muffins have a moist crumb and do not reek of healthy ingredients if you know what i mean. They do have a nutty taste from the peanut butter tho. I’m trying a new workout routine and am sore all over, so dont have the will to type out a story (there isnt one actually). So here you go with the recipe!

Eggless Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins (Makes 6 regular muffins)

1/2 cup flour (i used whole wheat, but you could sub with Maida / All purpose flour)

3/4 cup oats (i used quick cooking)

a pinch of baking soda

1/3 teaspoon baking powder

a pinch of salt

1 T vegetable oil

4 tablespoons brown sugar + 2 tablespoons for topping

i mashed banana (about 2/3 of a cup)

3-4 tablespoons creamy peanut butter

2 tablespoons unsweetened natural yogurt

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup water

Preheat Oven to 375 F, line a muffin pan with paper liners

In a blender blend thoroughly the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda and the salt. Remove into a bowl.

Reserve 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar. In the same blender jar, add the remaining ingredients and whisk till well blended and looks like a smoothie.

Make a well in the middle of the flours and add the wet ingredients. With a light hand and a wooden spoon, mix till just incorporated. Do not overmix. The batter should be like a drop cookie batter, moist but not runny.

Drop with spoons into the paper muffin liners filling till 2/3 full. Sprinkle the reserved brown sugar on top. Bake for 22-25 min or till a skewer comes out clean. Cool on a rack for 10 minutes. These are beat eaten warm. These muffins can be refrigerated for a week. lightly warm before serving.

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

11 responses »

  1. Hi arundati, dont know if you remember, but I’d once mentioned that these muffins are my son’s favorite… I recently got around to finally blogging about it and have linked my post to your recipe here. Incidentally, this is the second recipe of yours I’ve featured on my blog-the first was your broccoli stirfry, linked to yours a few months ago. Hope to try out more great recipes from you so keep blogging :)

    Reply
  2. Woman, i have totally gotten addicted to your eggless, whole-wheat, brown sugar versions of everything! so obviously, i am loving this recipe… going to try it super soon :)

    Reply
  3. Thanks …hope to try it soon ..at your place :P

    Reply
  4. Ah, the eggless part sure attracts me more you know..:)..will try making this sometime, as soon as I get my muffin tray!

    Reply
  5. I really do not have a sweet tooth, but do occasionally have sugar cravings. These muffins sound perfect, as I also like peanut butter! :)

    You not a DB anymore?

    Reply
    • they’re just right for you then…. i jumped off the bandwagon after you and deeba hosted the tiramisu thingie…. :)

      Reply
  6. Am going to make these as soon as I can…loving it…yes, I prefer eating healthy too….and I understand the cravings….and calories :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

