RSS Feed

Baking ~ Whole Wheat Banana Coconut Almond Bread

Posted on
Banana Coconut Almond Bread

Banana Coconut Almond Bread

This was one of my favourite cakes / quick breads to bake and photograph. It was wholesome, not overly sweet and full of nutritious bananas, coconut and almonds. Its taken almost 8 months to be posted on the blog, but then I never claimed to be regular here. The fondest memory of taking these pictures was a 4 month old Sage sitting patiently in the background, waiting for me to finish taking pictures of the banana loaf and give him some to taste.

cake and dog

cake and dog

He was battling a severe gluten intolerance at that time, so I sadly couldn’t give him more than a sliver. That habit has not changed. Every time I bring out something to click pictures of, Sage will come sit around knowing that his patience and good behaviour will pay off. This made it to an article I wrote for a magazine on how healthy eating and baking need not be boring.

On a side note, I turned a year wiser (and older) yesterday. I need to write one of those “letter to my 20 year old self” one of these days. The blog too completed 5 years in june, but i rarely remember. It is not often that I have grateful satisfied thoughts on life. This year before I get all crabby, I want to record that I am just thankful for ~ the people, the love and the experiences that have made my life what it is. This blog has played no small role in this. Thank you dear readers.

banana coconut almond whole wheat bread

Whole Wheat Banana and Coconut Bread

(Makes 12 slices, Time Taken : 20 minutes to put together, 60 minutes to bake)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour

2 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2/3 cup sugar

2 large eggs or 4-5 tablespoons yogurt

1 cup mashed banana (2 medium-large)

1/2 cup skim milk

1/4 cup oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup shredded coconut ( I used fresh grated, desiccated or frozen should be equally good too)

1/4 cup sliced almonds (substitute with any nuts of your choice, or leave out if you have allergies)

Method:
Preheat oven 350F and lightly grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon
In a large bowl, whisk together sugar and eggs until well combined, then whisk in the mashed banana, milk, oil and vanilla extract. Pour dry ingredients into wet ingredients and stir until just combined, making sure no streaks of flour remain. Stir in shredded coconut and almonds and pour batter out into prepared baking pan.
Bake for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, or with only a few moist crumbs attached.
Turn loaf out onto a wire rack to cool completely before slicing

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

12 responses »

  1. GOnna try this… and LOVE , absolutely love the second Cake & DOg pic! :)

    Reply
  2. Hey Girl, Happy B’day!!!
    I have been an admirer of your food blog and 365 days, never reaaly got a chance to say, I have truly enjoyed reading all of your posts and some cooking as well :)
    I have started to cook, experiment more so will keep you posted on that front.

    Thanks for all the things you have shared.

    Sheela

    Reply
    • Hi Sheela, Always lovely to connect with a reader. Thank you for the time that you spend on the blogs. you just made my day! would love to hear about what recipes your tried and how they turned out. cheers! Me

      Reply
      • Hi Arundati,

        You look Goregous in your latest pic(with the B’day cake).
        I have tried few recipes from your collection, must say it turned out Yummy and it is a keeper!!
        1. Tomato Dal a hit
        2. Paneer pakoda ,but flopped, did something wrong:((
        3. Masoor ki dal a hit
        4. About to try sprouted Red lentils dal….for this I need to buy whole masoor, right?

        Thanks and stay in touch!!
        Sheela

      • hey sheela, thanks for the wonderful feedback and for trying out the recipes. uh oh! what happened for the paneer pakoda to flop? if you can tell me, maybe we can fix it…. yes, whole masoor i get and sprout it to use as sprouts, in khichdi and other dishes. Easily available at most grocery stores. Do tell me how it turned out. Cheers!

    • Hey Arundati, Thanks for your prompt response.
      I have no clue what I did wrong with Paneer pakoras, the moment I started to deep fry after dipping in the batter , batter kind of partially seperated from the paneer :(( so I put some besan to thicken and then tried to fry and it got worse :))) sorry messed up your recipe.
      I am yet to pick up the trick in deep frying stuff, I want to try again as I love paneer pakoras and plaintain bhajias.
      Any tips?
      I am impressed by your entrepreneur quality. How did you shift gears in career? Something I need to know as I am in the middle of transition phase, keeping fingers crossed……
      Leaving my email ID, if you can drop a line. I will be thrilled to see….
      Take care
      Your addict :) Sheela

      Reply
  3. Love your blog, though it’s the first time I’m commenting.

    In this recipe, at what stage do you add the almonds?

    Thanks
    Chitra

    Reply
    • thank you!the almonds are added with the shredded coconut. have updated it in the recipe as i seem to have missed it out… do let me know how it turned out!

      Reply
  4. That looks so wholesome! Congrats on the 5 year mark and lots of birthday wishes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

