RSS Feed

Falafel ~ Non Deep Fried Version & NaBloPoMo Finale

Chickpea dumplings

DSC_0060-1

For the longest time, I loved exotic (read non Indian) food for the simple reason that they had such awesome names! When I discovered Falafel at the lone hyderabadi restaurant, I fell in love with these crispy fried protein packed goodies. I couldn’t get enough of them. I was also amazed at how a simple preparation, could be made so glamourous with just the addition of a few other items. I’ve served falafels on their own as appetizers, as a meal with hummus, tzatziki and pita bread. Whichever way you choose to serve them, they are always appreciated and polished off.

Learn to make your own Pita from this post of mine. If you have not been able to plan the yeasted dough or don’t have it handy, use readymade store bought pizza bases to serve it. It works just fine.

Falafel (makes about 14-16 small ones) 

Chickpeas – 1 cup (dried ones)

Onion – 1 large, finely chopped

Garlic – 2-3 cloves

Fresh Coriander  – 1 small bunch, chopped

Coriander powder – 1 teaspoon

Cumin powder – 1 teaspoon

Red chilli powder – ½ teaspoon

Fresh bread crumbs or Maida – 2-3 tablespoons

Salt – to taste

3-4 tablespoons oil for shallow frying, or use the paniyaram chatti to make them in lesser oil.

  • Soak the chickpeas in enough cold water for 6 hours or overnight. Drain, add 3 cups fresh water, pressure cook for 4-5 whistles till they are cooked but not mushy. Drain the water (keep this water for other uses, it is high in nutrients).
  • Add the chickpeas and the garlic into a jar of the mixer and pulse 6-7 times in short bursts to get a coarse mixture. Add a little of the drained water if needed, but do not add too much.
  • Take out into a bowl, add the rest of the ingredients and mix well with a spoon. Taste and adjust seasoning.
  • In a non stick pan, add a few tablespoons of oil and heat on a medium heat.
  • Using your hands, make lemon sized balls of the chickpea mixture, shape it smoothly by rolling between your palms and flatten just a little bit. Place them on the hot skillet and fry till it is browned evenly. Gently turn over and fry the other side too.
  • To make them with lesser oil, use the paniyaram chatti / pan or aebleskiver pan to make them, shaped into balls and drizzle a bit of oil on them to fry evenly.
  • Remove onto a plate with a paper towel and drain till needed. Serve as an appetizer with hummus and tahini dips or use to assemble into a sandwich with salad and pita bread.

Falafel

To assemble

4 mini pizza bases or 6 pita breads

toast the mini pizza bases on a medium hot tava and cut into quarters, slice horizontally not cutting all the way, but creating a flap.

put a generous amount of hummus and stuff with a few leaves of lettuce, one falafel, add a bit of tzatziki, cucumber and tomato slices and serve.

This marks the end of the NaBloPoMo. The first ever disciplined writing project I have attempted. I dragged my feet a bit, posting late on a few days and back dating. But i was determined to have all 30 posts. I realised I have a lot of food related stuff, pictures and recipes in my archives and it was easy to dip in and use them. I didn’t make anything exclusively for NaBloPoMo. It requires terrific amounts of discipline to do this nonstop. I am so glad and awfully proud I managed to do it.

November has been a month of tremendous discipline for me. Not just posting here, I also did a non stop one month photo project. If you would like to check it out, click here. Offline, I didn’t miss a single scheduled workout the results of which are showing, I have been on a very testing diet to help with some metabolic issues and was off shopping completely. Phew, made me realise that I can accomplish anything if only I applied my mind to it.

Thank you for reading and commenting and cheering me along, could not have done it without your support my dear readers.

I do not think I have the energy to sustain this kind of blogging again for a while. But I hope to be more regular than usual!

About arundati

Home lover...Rains...Sea(esoteric child of the water god)...treks...nature wilds...Trains...Garfield...Alstroemeria blooms...Sunflower stretches...Spot 6 differences...Crossword attempts...Supper Nags...No sleepless nights...

4 responses »

  1. Congratulations on everything achieved at the end of the month! Loved reading all the posts.

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on a delicious month! I’ve enjoyed reading along all month.

    Reply
  3. mykitchentreasures

    Wowo real healthy. I have only had deep fried ones.

    Reply
  4. I am so going to try this! so easy and a change from the usual. The Tahini dip is a store bought? or made at home?

    I need that dedication…which is sadly lacking! But can always hope a good thing rubs off .. I love how you use the paniyaram pan for these. I like you cannot fry .. at least not without shuddering every time…but this pan is my haven. manchurian, vada pav, dahi wadas,..all have been happily made in those!
    Do keep posting….Hugs! Tejal

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

