Chinese Ho Jaaye? Recipe for Vegetable Hakka Noodles and Chinese Stir Fry Vegetables

stir fried veggies and veg noodles

I am a sucker for Chinese food…at least the kind that we get here…. Indian Chinese…..when I was little (yes, I once was) and I’d be asked what kind of food I liked, I’d reply smartly with “I can eat Chinese food 365 days a year” yes I was that crazy…..infact I managed to convert K who hated the stuff….cos all through our courtship we’d only go for Chinese dinners and lunches….so much so that he stopped asking me what I wanted to eat…he’d just ask “where do you want to eat?” meaning which restaurant……I’m not kidding when I say I can eat any kind of Chinese….good, bad and even sometimes downright ugly…from the Taj to the bandi’s famous and not so much, I’ve had it all and loved it!! I hadn’t really attempted to make anything more than chilli chicken and noodles in the past and I can experiment only one dish at a time….i would be a nervous wreck if I tried anything more ambitious…so it was Chinese night last night….what strikes me always is how simple the cooking process really is…once you trudge through the enormous cutting and chopping that is!! Dinner was ready in about 20mins actually…what with K keeping crazy hours because of his writing and then the Wimbledon adds to my already frayed nerves……this seemed to be such a blessing.

Recipes are here……….

my version of veggie noodles

chopped vegetables for the noodles

2 packets of noodles, boiled and drained

3 cups of finely chopped vegetables (i used cabbage, chinese cabbage, french beans, mushrooms, carrots and 1/2 a sliced onion)

8 pods garlic finely chopped

2 green chillies sliced fine

2 tbsp oil

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp soy sauce

in an open pan or kadai heat the oil. add garlic and green chillies and fry for a few seconds. add the onions, fry a few seconds, add the chopped vegetables and stir till tender on high heat. after rounghly3 minutes, add the salt, pepper, soy sauce and stir well. now add the boiled noodles and stir till well blended with the veggies. serve hot

Stir fry vegetables (from Sanjeev Kapoor’s Microwave cooking made easy)

i used the microwave to steam the veggies and followed the recipe on the stove top

steamed vegetables for the stir fry

3 cups vegetables cut into bite sized pieces ( i used cauliflower, french beans, carrot, capsicuim, mushrooms, onions and cabbage)

2 tbsp oil

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp soy sauce

1/4 tsp sugar

2 tsp cornflour

place the veggies except the mushroom and capsicum in a microwavable bowl, add 1/2 cup water, cover and cook on high for 5 mins. drain in a colander. add oil to an open mouthed vessel, heat, add the steamed veggies along with the mushrooms and capsium and stir fry till the capsicum is tender. add the salt, pepper, soy sauce and sugar and continue to stir fry. mix the cornstarch in 1/2 a cup of water till there are no lumps, gradually add to the veggies while stirring and cook for a minute or two. serve with rice or noodles.


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lata says:

    I make this often too at home. I don’t know I don’t like Chinese at all places, only at few places. And these days I am making it at home, so no worries at all.

    hmmm…like i said i am a bonafide Chinese food junkie…but yeah once you start making it at home, nothing else will do

  2. Naveena says:

    Hey, your stir-fry veggies are really quite authentic. I can vouch for it since living with a Chinese roommate!

    mon ami…you are so kind…and that boosts my chinese cooking confidence now!!

Leave a Reply

