a really long me me

I have been tagged for a meme by the Kitchen Queen – Anu……thanks so much…..this is a long one and you’ll really need the patience of an angel to get through this. So here they are 7 random facts about me…..they’re all descriptions actually

  1. i got my pet name Anu because my older than me by 45 days cousin who began speaking before me couldn’t say ‘ra’, so she said “anu” instead of “aru” and the name stuck on and thats how i am known to most people. a lot of surprised / shocked expressions read the ‘real name’ printed on my wedding invitation!!
  2. i reconciled my psychology degree with my management post graduation by becoming a behavioural trainer. i love the training room and it gives me a high like no other. when i quit, it sent shock waves through the orgn and i felt super about being so valued professionally. but i couldn’t take the pseudo corporate BS anymore, cant work a 9-7 and wont be able to fulfill my dream of owning a coffee plantation and a restaurant and retiring before i am 40 if i die at work. i now am a training consultant and writer and the kicks are fantastic!!
  3. i’ve known my husband of 3 yrs for the last 11 yrs. we met at a good for nothing computer class and were ‘good friends’ for 5 yrs. neither proposed, we just knew we wanted to be together.
  4. we wanted to elope, but our families reconciled and spoilt it for us!! we had one of the most unconventional weddings. the symbolic tying of thali happened with 20 people in the apartment we were to live in post marriage, we waited for the registrars office to open an hour later for the civil ceremony ( i married an atheist), had lunch at a hotel and went to our respective homes with family. the next day till 5 pm the both of us supervised everything at the venue for the reception, rushed home, got dressed and stood for 4 long hours smiling at everyone despite very painful high heels at a fabulous and huge reception for 500 people, bid everyone goodbye, chucked the heels, counted out the crockery, cutlery, etc, made payments and left at 1.00 a.m. the 12 day honeymoon we went on the next day was the only thing we really enjoyed in this whole jamboree!!
  5. i love dogs and cats, have owned three of each at one time and its a myth that they dont get along. its for the first time in my life that i don’t have a pet now cos i live in an apartment.
  6. i love to shop, am a keen observer and can imitate well. am also very animated when i speak. my lola kutty, Hema Malini, Rakhee and a few real people i know acts are big hits. but i am painfully shy and have to be very high or in the company of my closest friends to do this.
  7. people i barely know who ask me questions such as “why did you quit working/ what do you do the ‘whole’ day at home / when are you giving us ‘good news’?” are all answered with a “how is this any of your business” from me, said with a straight face. i loved to see them squirm, feel stupid and embarrassed and try to pass it off as a joke because thats the last thing on earth they expected me to say to them!!

whew!! i am tagging ambica and archana and anyone else who’d like to participate in this me me.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Sig says:

    Hey Arundati, I mean Anu… I think its my first time here, and I have no idea how I missed your wonderful site so far…. You are funny girl.. :)… I might borrow your line to use against the baibee police …

    hi Sig, i have been an avid reader of your site!! welcome here!! and let me know how the baibee police repellent works!! 😉 (make that evil wicked wink!!)

  2. Raaga says:

    My namesake 🙂 Its funny how many people still find it tough to pronounce my name right. And you’re also in HR… as am I 🙂

    and you’d think with a famous writer it would get easier!! 🙂

  3. Asha says:

    Loved your wedding story.Similar with us too,knew 5yrs before the marriage as teenagers,ready to go for register office when out of college,then I had grand wedding,married for 20yrs now! Enjoy:))

    wow!! that’s amazing!! 20 years together!! thanks for the kind words…now i know why everyone calls you Ashaji!!

  4. Suganya says:

    Wow! Thats a nice read. I think we should start a sisterhood against the “babeee police”

    thats a super idea….lets do that and come up with ideas to harass them back…compare notes and hone our skills on that one….!!

  5. Tee says:

    Good to know you! 🙂 I must say, you had a very different kind of wedding, but what a great memory! 🙂 and those nosey people, hate them!!!

    thanks aditi!! i agree on both counts!!

  6. Dee says:

    Nice knowing you arundhati.. I used to ask such questions when i came to the US early on .. i didnt realise its so painful when u go thru it.. add to that, you shud plan to have a baby bcos…. and it never stops!!

    i once asked someone if they were a consultant….they replied no, then i said, acha so you go around giving free advice anyways, why dont you begin charging for it and give it only when someone pays?? you should’ve seen the look!! i dont mean to be mean, but sometimes it just gets to you!!

  7. bee says:

    nice one, arundhati. as for “when will you have a baby?” i like to say, when you stop being a nosey parker and tell me about your pap smear in detail.

    ha ha……pap smear!!

  8. bhags says:

    nice read Arundhati, ours was also a somewhat similar wedding, but it didnt follow a honeymoon. Me too would like to own a resutaurant one day….

    now’s not late for that honeymoon!! i’d recommend it to everyone!!

  9. Srivalli says:

    Its great knowing you…btw…I wouldn’t say your computer class as useless…thats where you met your hubby right…so it had its use..lol….

    Srivalli

    yeah …. that was the only thing that was productive about the class…and life altering too!! 🙂

  10. Poonam says:

    I loved reading your meme…only that I am totally scared of cats and dogs!

    they’re actually less harmful than the bi pedals we encounter!!

  11. Coffee says:

    it was so nice knowing about you Anu… err… Arundhati. 🙂
    Marriage story was something! I would love to be like you for the last point…. but for some strange reason I have a hard time dealing with people who want to family plan for me!

    i completely understand what you’re saying…….just look them in the eye and say something firm and see the difference!! just their expressions are to die for!!

Leave a Reply

