Breakfast for lunch and dinner too ~ Mixed Lentil Dosa

mixed dal dosa, groundnut podi and coconut chutney

Dosa (and idli) are staple food at our table. I suppose I began to appreciate the true value of making a batter and storing it in the fridge twice a week only as a working woman with a house to run. Infact before I got married, I hardly paid heed to how amazingly the ladies of the house would have food on the table and in the cupboard for when hunger strikes, day after day…but then that is another story altogether!!

Anyways. Despite being severely kitchen challenged, I am grateful that I can get away with feeding K idli and dosa all the days of our lives!! Seriously. There have been times when we’ve had the aforementioned food for a couple of days and for all meals, and I haven’t had a complaint!! Just do a merry dance between variations of chutneys, podis and sambhar and I’m all set!! I can get sick of it and crave something else, but not K!! We came back from Bangalore last week with a takeaway of some podi which my mother made especially for K, he loves it and has let her know it from day one. But it lasted all of 4 days. K asked me if I could replicate, I said I’d try to but I’d give no guarantees. I made some for breakfast this morning and as a backup also ground some coconut chutney!! The result?? K loved it and said it was better than amma’s (which I seriously doubt, love makes men say the strangest things!!). I tried a little variation to the dosa batter a few weeks ago and we’re quite happy with the result. Added some other dals and beans to the usual. I’m not sure if this is the formula for adai, but it does make tasty dosas. The good part it this can be soaked for a few hours, ground and used immediately. There’s no fermentation process.

Mixed Dal dosa

1 cup parboiled rice

2/3 cup urad dal

1/3 cup each of channa dal, masoor dal, lobia

Soak overnight or for 3-4 hours. grind to a batter adding salt to taste. add water if required for a pouring consistency. Spoon a ladleful of this batter on a hot iron or non stick griddle. A few drops of oil on the edges. Roast till golden brown on both sides. Serve hot with chutney, podi, pickle or sambhar.

If batter is leftover refrigerate quickly. Sometimes I add fresh chopped dhania and curry leaves, green chillies and a little whole jeera to the batter for a nice twist.

Amma’s Groundnut podi

1 cup groundnuts

4 dry red chillies

6-8 pods of garlic

½ tsp whole jeera

¼ tsp whole balck pepper

2 tbsp putnalu pappu (roasted chana dal, futana dal, dalia)

Dry roast all of the above (except the garlic) till golden brown. Set aside to cool. Fry the garlic in ½ tsp oil till lightly golden. Set aside. After it all cools, powder it in a food processor. Pulse for a few seconds at a time because the groundnuts tend to become an oily mass if pulsed continuously. Store in a jar. It stays fresh without refrigeration for at least 10 days. Mix with oil to serve with idli or dosa, and with ghee for hot steamed rice.

Coconut chutney

5 tbsp fresh grated coconut

1 tbsp putnalu pappu / raosted channa dal / dalia

½ green chilly chopped

Salt to taste

1 inch piece of onion or two sambhar onions

A small bunch of fresh coriander leaves

Take all of the above along with ¼ cup water and pulse in a wet grinder / food processor till smooth. Check for salt and adjust water for consistency of choice. Temper with oil and tadka of mustard seeds, urad dal, dry red chilly, curry leaves and serve.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. jameswillisisthebest says:

    This is my first post
    just saying HI

    hello James…..welcome!!

  2. kajal says:

    Yes you are right this is breakfast, lunch and dinner too…..Nice dish with chutney.:)

    i am just thankful for K who eats it without a fuss!!

  3. Suganya says:

    The very thought of having dosa/idli batter in the fridge brings all the courage and confidence in me to face dinner time:)

    my thoughts on the subject are the same too!!

  4. Asha says:

    I made Adai too with veggies at Aroma this week.I love the convience of quick rice and dal batter too.
    Chutney sounds great,thanks girl:)

    i add veggies like carrot, cabbage, beans all shredded to the batter to make stuffed idlis. makes it more wholesome than it already is.

  5. Raaga says:

    read my story 🙂 http://chefatwork.blogspot.com/2007/07/dosa.html

    Sound advice I got.

    Nice recipe. I will try it.

Leave a Reply

