Hand Made Gifts ~ Patchwork Baby Beds

blue patchworkpink patchwork

after reading this post in my “other blog” a friend of mine wanted me to post it here as well. this is the gift i made for my 7 month old niece. the real reason i made these is that from the longest possible time, my mother has wanted to make a patchwork quilt for her grandchildren. one that would be passed on in the family and she has been collecting swatches of cloth for many years now. unfortunately last year, she was diagnosed with a degenerative retina, this means she’s left with just 30 % vision in her ‘good’ eye. she had only one regret, that she can never make the quilt now. this is’nt quite what she had in mind, but i wanted to make something to cheer her up. to give credit to my mom, she is like Jhansi ki Rani, she’ll never give away that she cant see well, fiercely independent till date, she still runs the household and does everything herself. but all the stuff that she loved doing, like sewing (she’s an accomplished seamstress) and reading, she cant do. even her beloved television serials, she can only listen to the dialogues cos everything looks hazy to her.

the pink one was the first and i made some mistakes which i thankfully bettered with the blue one. the procrastinator in me began at the 11th hour, the power cuts were of no help, and the fact that i was leaving the next morning made me realise i had to be practical, hence the patches on the blue bed are much larger than the pink one!! they’re both filled with synthetic fill and hence washable, needed i guess if its meant for a child. my niece was delighted with the pillows cos she can stick all the lace straight into her mouth!! very convenient for her. so A, this post is for you!!

9 thoughts on “Hand Made Gifts ~ Patchwork Baby Beds

  1. Anjali says:

    the small pillow is sooooo cute. very creative indeed.

    it was a gift for my niece that i made for her baptism….she has chewed it ever since she got it!!

  2. Srivalli says:

    so sorry to hear about your mom not able to sew anymore. If you can sew like this, am sure she must be really great! both are looking so lovely. You are really so very talented!

    o, my mom is very talented…she used to make so many things for the house, most of my childhood clothes…she loves making baby clothes and has made for so many kids….friends of friends too…..and i am not even a patch on her!! long way to go for me….thank you so much for the praise…..i feel humbled…

  3. Suma Gandlur says:

    That’s very creative and thoughtful. Even though I don’t know abc’s of sewing, I am always attracted to those baby quilts. Even though my kids are grown up, I just go to the baby section of shops just to see the designs of the quilts. LOL.

    i know, creations for little people are so attractive and tempting. tho i dont have kids of my own yet, i browse / buy and give them as gifts to friends who do have kids. thank you so much:)

  4. Suganya says:

    You are an accomplished seamstress yrself. Very pretty!

    Dear Suganya, you are so generous with your praise……i have a long way to go before i begin to mistake myself as a seamstress!! thanks so much

  5. kajal says:

    Yes you post my dear this is very nice gift to your niece. Really you work great. No mistake in pink my dear….Your feeling is true than does not matter size my dear.:)

    err….i think the pic made it look better!! but since i figured out how to do it, the blue one took 1/4 the time that i spent on the pink one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

