Baking Escapade # 5: How to Make Chocolate Brownies in a Muffin Pan

chocolate brownie

Food blogging has done many things to me, for one; the most enriching has been all this exposure to this virtual world. Where talking about food, swapping recipes and taking a peak into others plates isn’t frowned upon, it is celebrated….all these fantastic food bloggers, the people behind the pages, the lives they lead, the camaraderie, the fun and the absolute celebration of the things they love best…..it has made me take greater interest (if that was possible) in my food, I find myself spending time actually reading the labels and not just checking the prices of stuff I buy, I am reading so much more, on the internet and otherwise, and not just about food, its also made me so much more adventurous in what I do in my kitchen these days….

I often tell people I don’t have a sweet tooth, I have a sweet jaw!! Infact I always maintain that no matter how delectable a spread is turned out, the one who makes the dessert always gets more ‘bhav’…… Sweets and I: we go back a long time….from the time my mother told me dahi and sugar was a special treat to make me have some form of milk ( I was averse to the white liquid and all its derivatives) to tiramisu……it has also been something that I haven’t been very adventurous about, barring a few episodes of successful chakkara pongal and one semiya payasam, I haven’t made too many desserts (and no I am not counting the jelly from a packet ). Infact at my last workplace, there was a European style café in the same complex and for want of better options at the office cafeteria we’d religiously eat at this café at least three times a week. The food was definitely better than the stuff we’d get at office, but what drew us there was the dessert of these amazing chocolate brownies with ice-cream. Once my partner in crime and I had made this discovery, we’d split one lunch between us so we could split one dessert to be relatively guilt free. And trust me it was to die for……..So armed with some recipes I ventured into brownie territory this weekend and they turned out fabulous even if I say so myself and the picture I took before they got demolished just doesn’t do any justice to the way they tasted – heavenly. I followed the recipe from here to the T (something that I am learning to do, so that I don’t end up with baked bricks) and found it a tad too sweet (yeah even for me). So the next time I will cut down on the sugar. I must say that I don’t know if it was by design, but there was some granulated sugar that didn’t dissolve, and it added a crunch to the texture. I made them in a muffin pan for individual servings and this batter made for 12 brownies. They didn’t survive till be could get the ice-cream but they taste just as great without anything else.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anjali says:

    they look yum! i like all ur recipes:)

    thank you dear….

  2. Suganya says:

    Warm brownies and ice cream.. Oh.. and a little fudge.. What more can you ask for?

    oooo Suganya, i agree, you cant ask for anything more, but mine didn’t survive till then 🙂

  3. Raaga says:

    Brownies are always a special treat, aren’t they? I make a batch every once in a while 🙂

    this was my first time and i was thrilled….the recipe was so simple and baking disaster proof

Leave a Reply

