Baking Escapade # 6 – Jugalbandi’s Almond Chocolate brownie

jugalbandeeโ€™s almond chocolate brownie

I’m usually one of those people who drools over recipes, thinks of throwing a party to sufficiently showcase the labour that goes into actually trying it and after a while, the memory of whether or not i actually tried out the recipe is a blur…… this time it was different…i logged in this morning and did the usual trawling….i checked out jai and bee’s as usual…..pondered over the almond chocolate brownie…..fantasised some about serving it at a party and the oohs and aahs that would hopefully follow…(consider the fact that baking is always a hit and miss for me…..more misses actually….), bookmarked the recipe….couldn’t get it out of my mind…..wrote it down in my diary…..shut the book but couldn’t get it out of my mind…..for the first time i rushed to the kitchen hours after reading a recipe and boy o boy!! the result is fabulous….even if i say so myself….thankfully i had everything on hand……..by the time the batter was ready the power was off so waited impatiently for a while and when the power came on again i popped it in to bake……the top was firm and the insides moist and perfectly gooey…..my mom had a piece and paid me the best compliment ever…she’s asked me to bake her one to take back with herwhen she’s ready to go back to bangalore……

i followed jai and bee’s recipe to the T, of all the brownies i have made (and there are 3 already posted on this blog) this one was the easiest and easily my best !! pardon the bragging…i just cant get over it!! i only couldnt slice the almonds so simply split them down the middle, and they browned a bit after baking….. after i post this, i am having myself another piece for dessert.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Anita says:

    Splitting the almonds is fine enough for us on this side of the world! They get these fine sliced almonds out of a packet – and you thought they were slicing?! Wow, you made them brownies too – go girl.

    there’s this fancy new supermarket (boutique shop they call themselves) in hyderabad…..all the P3P are there, shopping in full togs…..so me went there and they had all this stuff i hadn’t even imagined we’d get in India, K had to politely tell me to close my mouth for we aren’t goldfish!! and i can only imagine the mile long cereal aisles at K mart or the equivalent!!

  2. Raaga says:

    this was on my to do list as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    raaga, get to doing it…..guaranteed satisfaction!!

  3. Rupa says:

    Hi Arundati,

    I have been browsing through cookery websites and came across your lovely blog. I have been following your recipes and enjoyed reading them.. I should soon be cooking them too. And I learnt that you take chocolate making classes. I am very keen on joining your classes. Do you have any for weekends since am working and where do you give them? Can you send me these details?

    Regards,
    Rupa.

    Dear Rupa, thanks for stopping by and the wonderful words of encouragement……i have mailed you the details of the classes to the id above. look forward to hearing from you……. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Nags says:

    wow! awesome! i was drooling over this too, at their site ๐Ÿ™‚

    totally drool worthy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. bee says:

    the almonds were sliced when we bought them.

    cha!! and i felt totally at sea cos i couldnt slice them and split them down the middle!! wah!! me wants sliced almonds too!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Srivalli says:

    wow..thats gerat…have been planning to make since I read it…now I am surely going to do it by weekend…those guys simply rock with their recipes..

    totally agree!!

  7. Asha says:

    You are already made it!! Looks yum!:))

    Asha, how could i resist?? self respecting chocaholic that i am….lemme tell you the picture isnt half as fantastic as the brownie was….!!

  8. pooja v says:

    Ohh la la!! this looks so good.guess i hv throw away the lazy streak in me n put on a apron n get going with these brownies. The y look v delicious.

    Pooja….just follow jugalbandi’s recipe to the tee and i promise the brownies wont disappoint you..

  9. Happy cook says:

    Hey i saw today jai and bee’s brownie. And i must admit you brownie looks good as theirs .
    Well done. Reading bee’s remark she is really chuffed that you made this.

    HC….thanks…..wow!! this is a fabulous compliment ….on the brownie comparison!!

  10. bee says:

    woo hoo, you are a trooper. if we had a power cut, we’d have eaten up the batter before it came back on.

    they look just fabulous. try it with walnuts or pecans. equally fabulous, and walnuts are easier to slice.

    bee, i’d just crush the walnuts coarsely and skip the slicing….can you let me in on how you managed to slice them so fine?? i’ve seen the halwai’s here using a dry fruit slicer which looks like a veggie slicer from a kiddies kitchen playing set…was wondering if you guys have a similar contraption….

  11. Priya says:

    Wow, that was quick ! These were definitely the best brownies I have had…my roomie and I are planning to try it out this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dear Priya…you bet they are…i think this goes into my list of “showing off guaranteed!!”

Leave a Reply

