Baking Escapade # 7 – Bunning around…..(Savoury Whole Wheat Buns)

whole wheat savoury buns

The monsoons have begun to retreat…which means mostly rains in the evenings in September for Hyderabad……I love the rains and it makes me all mushy and romantic and ready to try a few new things for dinner…..something steaming hot to warm you up and suddenly a very simple dinner gives you a “domestic goddess” avatar….with the traffic in hyderabad enough to send you to an asylum for attempting to drive in it…..K generally comes home and we sit down in thanksgiving for the sanity that life gives us and thankful for the warm comforting food, the warm, dry home and the love of family and friends…….see I told you the rains make me mushy!!

Anyways, continuing my escapades with baking and fully inspired by this wonderful lady and these two people…what I set off to actually do, was check if the dried yeast that I had sitting in the freezer was alive (advice I got from bee…when I lamented on the bricks I baked on an earlier encounter, she asked me to make sure my yeast was alive)…so I mixed it into a cup of warm water…..it frothed gloriously all the way over the brim and suddenly I was all excited…..i thought I’d try my hand at baking some buns…..it was Sunday afternoon and both K and Amma were respectfully resting…..it was all that I needed to try something and have the allowance of destroying the evidence if I ended up with bricks again…….. this is adapted a bit from Anita’s recipe of whole wheat bread….basically cut the proportions to a minimum so I could get rid of the evidence with that much less guilt if it flopped badly …and made the whole thing out of whole wheat flour…….but I didn’t have to fret as it was quite a success….I mixed the dough…….waited for it to rise and I was so excited when it did!! The result was 8 buns about 4 inches in diameter….firm and crusty on the outside and soft on the inside…..i tried glazing it with just water and it resulted in a cracked surface, this needs to be avoided the next time….there were two buns left and the next morning I was pleasantly surprised that they were still soft………..we had them with steaming hot tomato soup for dinner……this is my entry for MBP – bread, hosted by Coffee of the Spice Cafe

Savoury Whole Wheat Buns:

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

2 tsp active dried yeast

Warm water

1 ½ tsp salt

1 tbsp olive oil

1tbsp Italian herb mix (or any other flavoring of choice)

Dissolve the sugar to a cup of warm water, add the yeast and mix well. Leave for about 10 minutes till frothy.

In a bowl, add the wheat flour, olive oil, salt, herbs and the yeast mix and mix well, adding more warm water gradually to form a sticky dough.

Leave in the bowl covered with a damp tea towel for about 3 hours till it has risen to double its size. Punch it down, divide into 8 portions, roll the balls of dough between your palms for a few minutes, flatten slightly and place on a baking tray that has been lined with butter paper. Let it sit for another 45 mins to an hour

Bake in a hot oven (220 degrees F) for about 16-18 mins. Till the outside is nice and brown. Take out from the oven, let cool on a wire rack and serve.

serve with a steaming bowl of soup or a gravied curry, or plain with a pat of butter.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Kay says:

    Arundati, I made this yesterday night. My first attempt at making bread without using my bread machine and it came out great. Love the taste. will be making this often from now on, to go with soups. I made it into mini rolls and got 12 out of it. It looks very cute!

    Thanks very much!

    Dear Kay, sorry for being such a late latif in responding…..glad that you tried these out and that you liked them….

  2. Raaga says:

    I used to bake a lot 20 years ago… and then stopped rather abruptly when I left home 10 years ago… I am back to regular baking now. And I agree… its a new high altogether.

    Dear Namesake…thats quite some baking experience you have!! way to go!!

  3. Srivalli says:

    this is a must try for me…thanks…

    thanks Srivalli….

  4. Suganya says:

    Aren’t those beauties. Love how they have cracks on top.

    Dear Suganya, those were courtesy my attempts to get a glaze with water since i thought i’d avoid honey or the eggwash…i now have bought myself a pastry brush!!

  5. Sig says:

    Hey Arundati, congrats … those look real yummy 🙂

    I’m not a baker… but have to in a few days… keeping my fingers crossed… 🙂

    Sig….jump onto the baking bandwagon…its turning out to be quite a ride!!

  6. Anita says:

    You have to give everything another chance…if I could tell you about the number of burnt cakes I ended up with in my antique oven when I was starting out… 😀 But that is in the past!

    Now, there is no looking back for you!

    dearest Anita, its hard to imagine that you ended up with burnt (anything actually) cakes….you’re so accomplished…..but thanks for the wonderful words of encouragement….yeah seems like i’m hooked now!!

  7. Asha says:

    Looks yum! I just made coconut buns too, they are a delight!:))

    thanks Asha…waiting for the post…..eagerly at that!! 🙂

  8. bee says:

    isn’t that true comfort? home made bread with all the attendant aromas? keep baking. love your creations.

    i agree……infact i think i am turning into something i never thought i would….. a baking junkie…..!! i used to be so scared of baking….now i get my kicks from it!!

Leave a Reply

