Baking Escapade # 11 – Lemon and Raisin Cake Recipe

lemonraisincake

Memories of my maternal home are full of this lime tree….it was an experimental variety called “Rangapur Limes” that the agricultural university my mother worked at had developed….it was dark green on the outside and the flesh and pulp was orange….it was specifically developed for its juice and I haven’t come across such juicy limes ever…. Everyone who visited us would go back with a bounty….it was a high yielding tree and when laden, the branches would sweep the ground with the weight of the fruit….they were the sourest, most aromatic and greenest on the outside limes I have seen…. they were very big for limes but would easily pass for small sized oranges…and many would mistake them as such…. The house isn’t there anymore…and the lime tree was sacrificed too pretty soon….and I cringe now when I buy lemons from the market… because no matter what, nothing can match home grown produce….on a recent trip to Bangalore, I visited a family friend…they have a picture postcard home in a gated community….both uncle and aunty are avid gardners and their home with as many as 400 potted plants, rose trellises and fruit trees is testimony to their love for gardening….they grow bananas, papayas and to my delight had another variety of limes….hard as a tennis ball but so aromatic that I who am a big citrus aficionado delighted in sniffing them…..as many who have fruit and vegetable trees/patches at home will know, for a small family it is impossible to finish nature’s bounty…and I was offered a dozen limes to take back with me…..i havecakes-and-muffins-logo_thumb1.jpg jihva.jpgsavoured them this past month as they keep very well under refrigeration….so when I saw the theme for Jhiva for Ingredients….the event started by Indira and this month hosted by Coffee of the Spice Cafe was Lime and lemons, I knew I had raw material on hand…this also goes out to Bindiya, who’s theme for her monthly event “these are a few of my favourite things” this month is cakes and muffins…..

I spent yesterday evening baking and made choc rough muffins (recipe to follow) and a delightful lemon and raisin cake. this is actually a recipe for muffins, but i baked a cake out of it…increasing the baking time by a few mins…. Both were meant to be gifts and as happens in a household with too much access to chocolate, K wanted a taste of the lemon cake because it was so aromatic….i succumbed and it is almost over….the pic that is posted here is after 4 slices were demolished by us…..since the recipe is very simple with very few ingredients, I will make another tomorrow for the intended gift….for now, the aroma and flavor of the lovely limes lie infused into this fabulous cake…..

Ingredients

1 cup maida / all purpose flour

½ cup sugar ( I powdered it)

1 T baking powder

½ t salt

2-3 T raisins

1 egg

1 cup milk

3 T melted butter

2 t grated lemon rind

method

Preheat oven to 200 degrees C. in a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and raisins. Make a well in the centre

In another bowl beat the egg, melted butter, milk and lemon rind. Add this mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

pour mixture into a greased and floured cake tin, i used a 9 inch loaf pan….or spoon mixture into muffin cups and bake for 20-25 mins or till a skewer comes out clean.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Came here from Jfi Lemons..they look absolutely delicious..am trying this this noon..

    hey divya….do tell me how you liked it….thanks for stopping by….

  2. Raaga says:

    And thanks for the secret plan… I am almost there… with a slight change… salads alone 3 days a week, phulkas and sabji and salad on others, soups or light meals at night… the walking will resume today… so let’s see.

    goodluck!! lets get together to keep track of each other’s progress…..i believe it helps to buddy up….what say??

  3. Raaga says:

    I have a maple banana walnut loaf in the oven now… I hope it turns out fine…

    you have my email ID from my comments here don’t you? 🙂 Send me an email with your postal address and I’ll send you the chicken drumsticks. No sweat… honest.

    email doesnt appear in blogger…or i think that’s how the settings are….have mailed you from here tho!! have an extra slice for me….

  4. Deeba says:

    Hark hark, the dogs do bark,bakers have come to town!!! WAY TO GO Arundati…now someone’s been busy around here. Great post …& 2 recipes in 1!! The lime tree sounds like days gone by…how lucky to get limes off the tree & put them to good use. I LOVE CITRUSY flavours!!! :0)

    yeah you set a very impossibly high standard for us to follow!! miss the darned lime tree!!

  5. sig says:

    the baking queen is back in action 😀

    dont know baking queen…yeah but am back!! 🙂

  6. bindiya says:

    Hey I can only just imagine the flavour and citrusy smell of the cake….hmmmm delicious!

    the flavour was mild but so fab….it got demolished!!

  7. bee says:

    this is something i’d love to try with whole wheat pastry flour. thanks for the recipe.

  8. Hi Anu,
    Can we replace the egg? I mean can it be made eggles….this recipe sounds yum….

    have’nt tried this eggles…but usually, instead of the egg and sugar 1 cup of condensed milk should do the trick….

  9. Asha says:

    Lemon and raisin combo sounds good!:))

  10. Srivalli says:

    ehmmm..nice entry!

  11. Shella says:

    This looks lovely. I love a cake with a lemoney zing.

    thanks shella….try it….super simple!! that seems to be the criteria for me to try a baking recipe!!

Leave a Reply

