Ungrateful…..No more…..

Be forewarned…..that this is a really long post….non food related and may be really the thing that puts your insomnia away!!

Before the ones who gave me the honor of some lovely blogging awards and tagged me for some nice meme’s think I am an ungrateful recipient, i had better acknowledge them…….

The Booky MeMe

My namesake, tagged me for a book meme in june……and I wanted to do it…..it was so different from all the other tags going around…..I just didn’t get down to doing it till now…..

The rules:

  • Pick up the nearest book.
  • Open to page 123.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post the next three sentences.
  • Tag five people, and acknowledge the person who tagged you.

this passage is from a book called “ I do, Meditation for brides” by Ellen Sue Stern……i picked up in a second hand bookstore….i’d never heard of it….just flipped a couple of pages…dreading some “religious sermon types” and was pleasantly surprised……i spend my quiet mornings with this book….sometimes reading portions for 5-6 days because they are so delightful and full of worldly wisdom!! its made me see ever so clearly that there is humour, friendship, compassion, anger and frustration in marriage….apart from the love we seek…..it makes me cherish this partnership that i entered, and tells me to shut up and lay off when i am being pig headed……tells me to take a hike when k is too polite to do so!!

each day’s portion begins with a quote from sources as varied as indira gandhi to woody allen and mother theresa…..and ends with a statement of affirmation that is mostly tongue in cheek….

This is what page 123 threw up for me……

“We crank up the volume when we sense our words are falling on deaf ears. We pout, scream. Or stomp around until he takes the cotton out and starts responding. “

And I can’t resist typing out the next few lines as well….. “We shouldn’t have to work so hard to get his attention. We also shouldn’t endlessly cover the same ground without regard for his feelings”

i want to know what keeps you company……what books are lying around your den……i am tagging

Deeba: passionate about baking…..fiesty lady, energizer bunny and dear friend….which pages do you flip?

Arundathi: My Food Blog ……..Namesake, petnamesake!! Whats on your table to read?

Manggy: No Special Effects ……. i really want to know what you will dish out

Anitha: Mad Tea Party……it will be interesting to see what makes the cut here!!

Swapna : Cook n Craft….i’ve never known this one without a book….so this tag is crying out for her!!

Musical MeMe

Deeba, this feisty baker lady, tagged me for a musical meme…..here are the rules:

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to.

I bet she thinks i am a compulsive complainer…..and wanted to know what I sing! Give me filmi…..or give me country……..that’s what puts me in my groove and i can’t get enough of Alan Jackson and Don Williams…… you know you are getting old when the only songs you like at a pub are the ones they play on “Retro Night”!! so here it is……when the raves and rants run out….this is what I sing!! Rather loudly …… with little regard to those who’s ear drums may tear!!

Remember when by alan jackson this song is such a complete love song…that for a mush junkie like me…..i can turn on the song and then reach for the tissues!!

Love is on a roll by Don Williams ……….. Great to hum when you are alone…..gives me goosebumps to think someone actually wrote these lyrics

Abba’s Dancing Queen…….one of the first groups I heard and immediately fell in love with….spent many hours in front of the mirror, hairbrush in hand, perfecting the moves!! Still puts a spring in my step…….

when you say nothing at all ronan keating……….I wonder if I like Ronan Keating because of this song, or the song because of Ronan!!

kabhi kabhi aditi by from jaane tu ya jaane na……flavour of the bollywood season….fresh faces and good performances in this teen flick….fabulous music by resident genius composer Rahman and sung by Raashid Ali

Taxi taxi from a r rahman…..Tamil grooves and moves….high energy for when I need a dose… …..this one is seasonal…but hey…I like seasonal!!

katra katra behta hai from ijaazat…..one of my all time favourites…if you can look before the fake sighing in the beginning!!….rekha…..gulzar and RDB!! Of course the singer too!! I’m singing this a lot these days….now that its been raining…..

I tag in return and want to know what gets you into the groove…..

Sig of live to eat, Raaga of the singing chef (with a name like that…how can I not!!), Mallika of quick indian cooking, Bellini Valli of More than burnt toast, Cynthia of tastes like home, Manisha of Indian food rocks, Nupur of One Hot Stove

i love you this much award

Deeba also gave me this award wayyyyyyyyyy back…….i thought better late than never to acknowledge this one……thanks babe….and the feeling’s mutual……I in turn want to pass this on to…..

Raaga, Sig, Kalyn, Amy

Blogging forever friend award

Swapna, fellow hosteller and reader of many books…also doting mom and closet crafter…..has given me two fabulous awards…one blogging forever friend award and one for good luck ….thanks babe……she’s so good for my ego….i would prescribe one of her kind to everyone out there…..she put me right along Martha Stewart as inspiration!! Wowie!! I have heard compliments and then some…..this one is way out of orbit…thanks swapna….

Here are the rules:

·Only 5 people are eligible for this award

·4 of them followers of your blog

·One has to be new to your blog and live in another part of the world

·You must link back to whoever gave you this award

I’d like to pass this on to Raaga, Arundathi, Deeba, Nupur and Julia: a new reader from Australia who just left me a comment

MAGIC LAMP OF LUCK

Swapna, fellow hosteller and reader of many books…also doting mom and closet crafter…..has given me one fabulous award…for good luck ….thanks babe……she’s so good for my ego….i would prescribe one of her kind to everyone out there…..she put me right along Martha Stewart as inspiration!! Wowie!! I have heard compliments and then some…..this one is way out of orbit…thanks swapna….

The mighty Genie King and the beautiful Genie Princess from the magical Land of Faraway are back! Upon escaping the clutches of their Evil Master after being held captive for 1000 years, the magical genies have been busy flying on their Magical Flying Carpet granting wishes and spreading love throughout the blogosphere.

And now, the genies are back with a special gift for everyone! Behold the sacred,
Magic Lamp of Luck! With this magic lamp, your blog will enjoy much good luck and fortune, warding off all things evil lurking around in the blogosphere. We would like to share this magic lamp with you so please pass on the Magic Lamp of Luck to those in need of some good luck. Remember, do not be greedy or unkind, evil or vengeful and good luck & fortune will always be with you! Join us on another exciting magical adventure as we spread goodwill and good luck to one and all!

1. Add your site(s) to the list once you have received the Magic Lamp of Luck.

2. Pass on the Magic Lamp of Luck to as many people as you like. After all, everyone needs some good luck!

3. Leave a comment HERE once you’ve passed on the Magic Lamp of Luck. Once the Genie King and Genie Princess have visited your site to make sure your links are complete and proper, you will then be added to the Master List

4. To ensure everyone receives equal link benefit, please UPDATE your list regularly!

1-Mariuca 2-First Time Dad 3-Mariuca’s Perfume Gallery 4-Emila’s Illustrated Blog 5-The Other Side of Emila 6-My Sweet Escape 7-Bay Head Blog 8-Roxiticus Desperate Housewives 9-LadyJava’s Lounge 10-Petty Ramblings of a Petty Queen 11-The Real Deal 12-Pinay Mommy Online 13-Perpustakaan 14-LadyJava Life’s Pages 15-Make Money Online 16-Cat Tales 17-LadyJava’s Food Paradise 18-Being Woman 19-Spicybug 20-Biz-N-Honey 21-Aeirin’s Collections 22-Sasha Says 23-Project Heavy Traffic 24-Picture Clusters 25-My Wanderings 26-Maiylah’s Snippets 27-Moments of Colours 28-Life Quest 29-BigMoneyList 30-The Best Parts 31-Morphed 32-Buhay Pinoy 33-Galatayo 34-Blogging Tips 35-Apples Of The Eyes 36-My Own Utopia 37-Sasha’s Corner 38-Under One Roof 39-Say Cheese 40-A Great Pleasure 41-A Life in Bloom 42-Because Life is a Blessing 43-Digiscraptology 44-Xixi 45-Ode to Adrienne 46-CrankyDave 47-Simple Life 48-Dew Drops 49-The Journey 50-Mastering Your PC 51-Day Break 52-A Little Girl Talk 53-Mom Knows Everything 54-Day to Day 55-1 of a Kind Wis 56-It’s a woman’s world! 57-Breather 58-Photo Hook 59-Letterbox 60-Asian Mutt International 61-Dream Doe Philosophy 62-MommyAlehs Up-Close And Personal 63-Livin’ the Life! 64-Restnrileks 65-English Corner 66-English Grammar 67-Bodybuilding & Fitness 68-Everything you need 69-One Stop Games 70-Blockbluster Movie Trailers 71-Bodybuilding & Human Growth Hormone 72-World of Tennis 73-Men’s Health & Tips 74-Internet Marketing Strategy & Tips 75-Latest Technology 76-Tentang Binaraga 77-Berita Seputar Selebriti 78-Panduan Kesehatan 79-Insurance For You 80-Crissy’s Zone 81-Crissy’s Library 82-Crissy’s Haven 83-sHeNzEe’s wOrLd 84-Voice Of The Spirit 85-Best Cuisine Recipes 86-Stand My Ground 87-SeeNRead 88-This Is A Miracle 89-I AM KCAT 90-Traipsey Turvey 91-GBeX & DOm 92-Spun By A Seanachie 93-ISL Family 94-D’ Cooking Mudra 95-‘Story’ the Great 96-UmmiRosma 97-Munirah Abd 98-Atie 99-Hit-or-Miss 100-Twisted Sister 101-Laketrees Artist 102-Blessed Sanctuary 103-Comedy Plus 104-Blogging By Sandee 105-Living Life to the Fullest 106-Speech-Less 107-Happy Life 108-My Discoveries 109-Strangely Out Of Place 110-Rooms of My Heart 111-The Paper Vision 112-Luxurious Retreats 113-Reef 114-Weekend Snapshot 115-Blessie’s Finds 116-Confessions of An Army Wife 117-My Pooch Life 118-Five Martini Lunch 119-TIPS FROM THE TRAILER 120-PoeARTica 121-STAY AT HOME MOM 122-Rantings of a Woman 123-Sjtl’s Weblog 124-Turn-u-Off 125-My World in My Own Word 126-Shawie 127-A New Saga 128-Janeth Vicy’s Life Journey 129-Simple Reveries 130-Berry Blog 131-Touts4u 132-My So Called Life 133-La Vida es Hermosa 134-Speedcat Hollydale Page 135-mangosteenskin 136-Choc Mint Girl 137-Of Colors And Styles 138-Pinaymama’s Diary 139-My Life’s Rollercoaster Ride 140-My Life…My Journey! 141-Bonoriau 142-Jenny and Belle 143-Read My Mind 144-A Sweet Taste Of Life 145-Shopping Blog 146-Precious Moments 147-Feydakin 148-Hot Shit Form Here 149-A Mother’s Simple Thoughts 150-Daily Ramblings Rendezvous 151-Miss Moneypenny’s Comical Posts Undercover 152-My Precious Niche 153-FunFierceFabulous 154-Colorful World of Shiela 155-Me,myself+2 156-Ozzy’s Mom 157-Let’s talk about MJ 158-Great people make us feel we can become great 159-A Family Man 160-Just the way it is… 161-In Depth 162-Attitude, the ULTIMATE POWER 163-Are You Grateful? 164-Complain Complain Complain 165-My Little Black Pot 166-Notes By Marvic 167-Aku Pelukis 168-Jiwasintetik 169-Foster Me Up 170-Life: Thoughts & Inspirations 171-The Callalily Space 172-Mommyhood and Me 173-Bits and Pieces 174-La Place de Cherie 175-Through The Rain 176-Blogfixes 177-New England Lighthouse Treasures 178-Chez Francine 179-Tsinay 180-Hailey’s Domain 181-Hailey’s Beats and Bits 182-My So-Called Life 183-PinayWAHM 184-Rusin Roundup 185-Sweet Temptation 186-Lynn’s Chic Spot 187-Kai Kriye 188-LiLo n StiTcH 189-Lights and Shade 190-Easycrafts 191-Ideasmoney 192-My creations 193-Sukanya-hobbiesandcrafts 194-My Kraft 195-http://adamarjuna.blogspot.com/ 196-The Working Mom 197-My Touch Of Heaven 198-Her Name is N.O.Y. 199-Fida Abbott 200-Hesitant Wife’s Blog 201-Blogging For Fun 202-Paint Your Life 203-Spicybugz World 204-Colin From Life 205-Ramblings of The Phat 206-AngelBaby from Your Caring Angels 207-Creative Saga 208-Indian Khana 209-Me and My Kitchen 210-Mom’s Recipies 211-Mom’s Cooking 212-Cooking Station 213-Simple Indian Food 214-Rekha’s Kitchen 215-SuperNova & SweetPain 216-My Sweet Haven 217-scrapbook newbie 218-http://www.miyyahatkertas.blogspot.com/ 219-funfliffy 220-AyangLina 221-A Room of Crazy Scrapper 222-srikars kitchen 223-Purva’s Daawat 224-Recipe Center 225-Veg Inspirations 226-Little Mermaid 227-Meendum Santhipoom 228-Ranji’s kitchen corner 229-En Vittu Virundhu 230-What’s on the menu? 231-Dancing in Midlife Tune 232-Meme Me 233-Tasty treats 234-Mummy Diaries 235-notyet100hub 236-Jujubs Creative Corner 237-Escapades 238-YOU!!

I’d like to pass this on to…..Deeba, Raaga, Arundhati, Nandita and Srivalli

14 Comments Add yours

  1. manggy says:

    I’ll try to answer the tag soon, thanks! 🙂

  2. Raaga says:

    wowowowow… thanks girl.

    And you misspelt Arundathi’s name… I’m Arundhati… she’s Arundathi 🙂

  3. Anita says:

    😀 I think I want to do the book thing…Thanks for the tag!

  4. Sig says:

    Thanks babe… I love you thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat much too… 🙂 And thanks for the tag, I will do it soon, hope I can do at least half as great a job as you did with all the tags!

  5. Thank you so much for thinking of me. It is always nice to know there are people out there who are as passionate as I am about cooking and blogging as I am. This is a MEME that is doing the circles. I participated a few posts back. If you would care to check out my top 7 songs when you have a chance.

  6. Nupur says:

    Thanks for the sweet awards 🙂 but I confess that I am going to be ungrateful and not pass them on to anyone!
    But I can tell you what’s getting me into the groove these days- A TV channel named VH1 has been airing shows called 100 greatest songs of the 80s and 90s and I have been listening to all my teen favorites from that list 😀
    http://www.vh1.com/press/press_releases/2006_release/100greatestsongs80s_10302006.jhtml
    http://www.vh1.com/press/press_releases/2006_release/100greatestsongsofthe90s_121207.jhtml

  7. sangeeth says:

    nice post and congrats on ur awards…luved the VISA CARD…somebody give it to me 😉

  8. arundathi says:

    😀 OMG!! you are too sweet!! thanks so much for so many awards babe! you made my day – esp after losing my laptop!! Smiling from ear to ear!!!

  9. Deeba says:

    Hey cool gal…Muah to you many times over…*BLUSH*… I FEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEL SO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!! Congrats on being truly innundated & humble thanks for passing me so many…you will not believe how happy I am….bouncing off walls type!! Muchas gracias…hope to do page 123 very soooon…watch out! Loved the lines on your page 123!! Say hi to K (& his toes; he will never live that one down…LOL)!! Ciao Deeba

  10. Swapna says:

    Hi Anu,

    Thanks for the meme..only problem is I have 3 books on my desk as I am typing this… guess I will do an eeny meeny miny mo..and pick one…!! 🙂

    Thanks babe……

  11. Srivalli says:

    thats a nice post arundati…hhehe..so many at the same time….thanks for passing me the luck…:)

  12. Kalyn says:

    Thank you for passing on the award to me!

  13. familiabencomo says:

    Wow! That’s A LOT of awards – all well-deserved, of course. Thank you for honoring me with an award (imagine me blushing & dabbing my eyes with a hankie)! It’s so much fun to share these awards & you are certainly a giver – thank you!

    xoxox Amy

Leave a Reply

