Tindora (Dondakaya) Stir Fry Recipe

This was a veggie we didn’t eat very often as kids….not because it wasn’t tasty, but amma thought it was “a waste of time and energy, not to mention precious oil and gas”….infact her exact words used to be “chaar anna ke bandhar ke liye, barah anna ka rassi” which when literally translated means the rope to tie the monkey is more expensive than the monkey itself and in the case of dondakaya, it was a very inexpensive vegetable and she felt it was not worth the time and energy and oil and gas it would consume to make it….

That apart, I find chopping this vegetable painful …..but since I love it, I buy and make it pretty regularly….i find it takes more than the usual 10 mins to cook to the stage that I like it at, and to hasten that on, I steam it for about 6-7 mins in the microwave oven. Again this depends on the time I have on hand to cook this.

This tastes best with chapattis or rice. my favourite is to have it on the side with curd and rice!!

Dondakaya Vepudu / Stir fry ~ Serves 3

2 cups finely sliced dondakaya / tindora / ivy gourd (I cut it lengthwise)

2 t oil

Salt to taste

1 t red chilli powder

A few curry leaves

In a non stick pan, heat the oil, add the sliced vegetable and cover with a lid. Cook without opening on medium heat for 5-6 minutes, stirring gently a couple of times.

Sprinkle the salt and red chilli powder and curry leaves and cover and cook another 10 minutes or till some of it is browning and all of the vegetable has wilted.

Check the seasoning, and adjust and cook uncovered for a couple of more minutes.

Serve with rotis or rice.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Raaga says:

    I’m back… I made this again yesterday… in the pressure pan. And it turned out great… any water evaporated in 2-3 minutes when I cooked it after removing the lid. 🙂

  2. Raaga says:

    Sachin loves this… I find it easy to chop… compared to some other veggies!!!

  3. Swapna says:

    Hi Anu, this has been a fav veggie with everyone in my family. My grandma used to make it with tiny prawns. she would cook it with the tamarind pieces we use for fish curry, fry it with kovakka and sprinkle grated coconut….absolutely amazing……. it’s been ages since I had something soooo good…:(

  4. rachel says:

    I love it when it’s fried crisp…..

  5. Vidya says:

    I love it too. I use sambar powder instead of chilli powder. I hate the cutting part too. These days i buy the frozen cut ones and stock it up in the freezer as my first son loves it too. 🙂

  6. Cynthia says:

    I’ve never had tindora before but I think that I would enjoy it with rice.

  7. I make it in a similar manner..Except that I slice i t into circles..

  8. arundathi says:

    I love it… kovakkai we call it. we make it a lot and always find that it pleases everyone. yours looks great!

Leave a Reply

