Recipe for Rava Idli from Scratch

This is again a version of the idly that I discovered post matrimony. Till then we always ate the conventional idly only…..this is one of k’s favourites and after many years of making it out of a readymade pack, I got myself the recipe from ma in law…..then I didn’t make it cos I was terrified of landing up with steamed goop all over…..needn’t have dreamt of such a melodramatic mess!! It turns out beautifully and now I don’t have to depend on the store bought stuff….

Makes about 12 idlies

1 c semolina / cream of wheat

Salt to taste

1 c curd

1 ½ c water

1t baking soda

For the tempering

1 t oil

1 t each urad and channa dal

8-10 curry leaves finely chopped

½ t mustard seeds

In a pan, heat the oil and add the mustard, when it splutters, add the urad and channa dals and toast till it begins to change colour. Add the curry leaves.

After a few seconds add the semolina and on low heat, roast till it just about begins to change colour. Stir constantly to prevent it from getting burnt.

When the semolina is cool. Whisk in the curds and salt, adding water to make a thick batter. Add the baking soda, whisk well and set aside for 10 minutes.

Add more water if needed to make the batter as thick as regular idly batter.

Place a steamer / idly cooker / pressure cooker with 2 inches of water and bring to a boil. Spoon the batter into the idly moulds and lower the stand into the cooker / steamer.

Cook for 10-15 minutes, checking for doneness (the surface of the idlies shouldn’t be sticky). Switch off the heat and let stand a couple of minutes.

I find that sprinkling a little water on the plates and leaving it for a couple of minutes makes unmoulding super easy….and you can literally slide the idlies off the plate with no scraps sticking to it.

Serve hot with podi / chutney / sambhar.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. sushma says:

    They look soft and yummy

  2. live2cook says:

    I make these and serve these with a potato side dish called “Kadappa”. Yours look great.

  3. Cinnamon says:

    I always make rava idly from ready mix. Your recipe sounds simple and tasty… bookmarked it!

  4. sangeeth says:

    luv the recipe….i have tried it too:)

  5. Nithu says:

    Idli looks perfect with podi and chutney. wanna have a bite.

  6. Srivalli says:

    ehmm..thats a great one..I always loved what my mom used to make…though I haven’t attempted in making it myself!..

  7. Aparna says:

    Arundati, this is one of my quick fix breakfast recipes!
    I also sometimes add fried cashewnuts or grated carrots to the batter for a change.

  8. Wow! just this morning I was talking to my amma and told me that she made rava idlis. Will have to try these some day soon.

Leave a Reply

