Baking Escapades# 16 ~ Chocolate Cake with Easy Chocolate Frosting Recipe

Ever wished someone would surprise you with something totally unexpected (in a good unexpected) way? I wish… a lot of times…when I have a bad cold, I wish someone would knock my door and offer me strong ginger tea….at work I wish someone sent me flowers (k wooed me with this trick)…a surprise trip, tickets to a movie….anything…something to brighten me when I am feeling low…or take my high to the next level when I am anyways happy….

Then one day I thought, instead of waiting for someone to surprise me…why not I do it for others? I know its better said than done…..so food gifts for friends….handmade and handwritten cards….chocolates by the kilo (but naturally!! For a chocolatier this is expected!!)…keeps me happy and believing that what goes around, comes around!! (Eventually at least!!)

P: who taught me to make Punjabi chole, was having a bad week….her one year old was sick for weeks and people with kids will know what a toll it takes on the parents….just watching her care for a crying, clinging baby gave me the shivers…worse still she got sick…..the same week, was her Wedding Anniversary….what looked like a quiet celebration for two, quickly went down the drain….and she was just happy to be able to have a quick bath that day!! So I decided to make a small cake and surprise her…I had no idea how it would turn out and decided to take a call once I made it….to say that I agonized over it…is an understatement……because I had planned on icing it…and after many near misses, ended up with this!! Lets just say that visually there was a long way for me to go…the taste and texture of the cake was great…but the frosting got the better of me!! I used milk chocolate instead of dark / bitter chocolate and didn’t end up with the colour that I wanted….

P and her hubby were really surprised and I think the look on their faces totally made my day……

The Cake recipe is from Tarla Dalal’s book / website and can be found here. I made one cake in an 7 inch round tin. Once the cake was cooled on a wire rack, I sliced the cake into 3 slices.

I used the recipe from the same site to make whipped cream, but made only half the quantity.

Reserving half the whipped cream for chocolate icing, spread the plain whipped cream onto the layers and sandwich them together.

Melt about ½ cup of grated or finely chopped dark chocolate in a double boiler or microwave ( I didn’t have dark chocolate so I used milk chocolate, hence the lighter colour). Stir to remove any lumps. Cool for 5-7 minutes. Fold into the whipped cream. Spread it over the cake, on the outside and on top. Decorate as desired.

I tried out some greetings in script with the same chocolate whipped cream…it was very pale and to highlight it, I dusted the cake with powdered sugar.

Chill atleast an hour to set. Remove from the fridge atleast 15 mins before serving.

other chocolate recipes from this blog you may like

Deep Dark Chocolate cake with frosting

Chocolate Pinwheels

Chocolate Almond Brownie

14 thoughts on “Baking Escapades# 16 ~ Chocolate Cake with Easy Chocolate Frosting Recipe

  1. Karishma says:

    Hi aru, you are so caring and sweet, I remember the time you made that wonderful cake for your aunt, and I can’t help but think how lucky the people in your life are to have you…truly inspiring! Btw, the cake looks delicious too!

  2. Deeba says:

    Good good girl you are. It’s always nice to get some yummies…which brings me to the point. Made idlis & served them with your yummy peanut-garlic powder that you mailed me. was explosive. had to snatch it away from DH in a while as he was polishing it off! Thanks a ton for that. BTW, can see the new icing set being put to good use!xoxox

    thanks Deeba….long way to go before i even get to be halfway as fabulous as you are!! glad you enjoyed the podi….yes….i am like a kid with a new box of paint and brushes!! hugs!!

  3. Mallika says:

    That’s so sweet of you! I’m looking for a good chocolate came recipe for my brother in law’s birthday.

    thanks mallika….this one is eggless if that’s what you’re looking for…. good luck!!

  4. richa says:

    lovely! sometimes just a lil’ note or a call from a dear friend is all u need 🙂
    choc cake sure can do wonders 😉

    thanks richa!! chocolate cake can cure anything!!

  5. Aparna says:

    That’s a beautiful cake and lovely gesture, Arundati. How did you do the work on the edge of the cake?

    i have a flattish icing nozzle which releases frosting like tape……did a zig zag with that nozzle….sort of allowed it to come till the edge and then took it back….i wonder if i am making sense??

  6. Nirmala says:

    Thats really sweet of you! And this cake looks lovely! I know how your friend would have felt after nursing the young one if she could get a time to breath and this cake would have totally made her day!

    thanks Nirmala….yes they were both very happy….and it made my day that i could bring a smile to her face!! they kept saying thanks for days……

  7. Raaga says:

    hmmm… well I surprised you with flowers too… you just chose that day to surprise someone else!!

    cake is lovely 🙂

    thanks sweetie…..my loss that i missed it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

