Sesame & Groundnut Chutney Powder Recipe

I am increasingly getting addicted to podis…in the last 4 months I have never made the same podi twice. I simply cannot stick to the same proportions even if I manage the same ingredients….and this in a way is a good thing…..considering the convenience of having a podi on hand to spice up idlies, dosas, buttered toast or steaming hot rice…….….

I am not a “little by little” person…I am more of a “clean sweep” kind of gal…so when I decide I am going to stand over the kitchen stove to dry roast and powder something, I do it so it lasts atleast 6 weeks…..this works for me cos I can’t see myself repeating the same activity too soon …..so stand and dry roast I will…..but my way….. Most podis will stay fresh for atleast a month…..initially I got half yearly supplies from my MIL and it stayed fresh and fine for several months……anything oily will turn stale…so refrigerate any podi which contains dry coconut, sesame seeds, groundnuts etc if storing for more than 3-4 weeks……

A few months ago I received a lovely package with some fabulous sesame chutney powder from Nandita…we polished it off in record time but I saved the little container it came in for the sticker that had the ingredients printed on it. It was in Marathi, which is similar to hindi I was able to make out what they were (more or less) and I tried to make something similar.

This is my entry to Roma’s Long Live the Shelf event….. hop over to see some time and nerve savers!!

To make the sesame – groundnut dry chutney powder (makes about 200 gms)

1 c shelled groundnuts with the skin

½ c white sesame seeds

12-15 dry red chillies (adjust according to your heat quotient)

Salt to taste

1 T whole coriander seeds

1 T whole cumin seeds

½ t whole pepper corns

¼ t asafetida

1 t sugar

6-8 pods garlic (fried golden brown in ghee / clarified butter)

Dry roast all of the ingredients one at a time. The groundnuts will begin to change colour and the skins will split. The sesame seeds will begin to pop (be careful and stand back). Roast the dry red chillies till they begin to change colour and all the spices till the give out a nice aroma. Fry the garlic in a teaspoon of ghee (clarified butter) till golden. Set all of them aside, on a wide plate/tray or a few sheets of newspaper and cool. Powder coarsely when cool, making sure you pulse it for just a few seconds at a time so that it doesn’t become a mushy paste. Check for salt and chilli, adjust. Break up any lumps that are there with your fingers. Bottle in a dry airtight container. Enjoy with idlies, dosa, hot rice. this podi will stay fresh for 3-4 weeks without refrigeration. have never refrigerated podis…so i have no idea how long it will stay….am sure its good for atleast 2-3 months….

12 Comments Add yours

  1. sudheer says:

    guys be careful while frying garlic, it pops and i burnt my face.

    oops… that must have been unbelievably painful!! anything with a skin, when put in contact with hot oil will burst….i stand well out of its reach at all times!!

  2. Raaga says:

    or shelled groundnuts 🙂

    Do you mean the ones that come in the hard casing?

  3. Raaga says:

    What is “shelled peanuts with the skin”?

    peanuts, removed from the hard casing…. but with the pinkish brown skin…..like the kind you can buy in packets in a Supermarket….. some podis call for peanuts without the pink skin…so basically you roast them and then rub them between your palms to take off that skin…i of course would not do it…. 🙂

  4. shuma.rani says:

    I love your blog, some really cool recipes to try out – thanks for sharing :))

  5. Pavani says:

    Podi looks and sounds delicious. My cousin also adds dalia to ground nuts and sesame seeds, she uses that podi in stir fried curries and pulusus.

  6. Cynthia says:

    I have to yet taste and try making a podi, yours looks so flavourful.

  7. I to hate doing the same thing again..Podi loos nice..

  8. romaspace says:

    Wow! So nice to learn that you are also interested in one-time effort and ease for a few weeks. Thats exactly the way I am.

    Thanks for participating in the event with the recipe of this delicious looking podi.

  9. Divya says:

    Love groundnut podi… My mom makes it all the time… we love it.

  10. Deeba says:

    This lady makes great podi…I can vouch for her. YUM, Arundathi…love the pic of the podi!!

    thanks babe!!

Leave a Reply

