Aamlette Roti – Street Style Egg and Roti Recipe

this is a picture of the Aamlette roti from the cart, taken from a camera phone!!

K and I are always rushing to catch planes, trains or buses!! That’s not because we’re badly planned travelers, but because we don’t plan most of the times…..we usually take off whenever work and bank balances allow us to….and sometimes even when bank balances scream that we shouldn’t!! it gets to us….the routine….and I think somewhere we’re both wanderers trapped inside these bodies of ours…

We like to see what the place has to offer and where the trip will take us….we’ve been known infamously to extend trips indefinitely and instinctively when we are enjoying it and change course as soon as we feel the trip isnt going as we’d like it to…..

Part of our travelling means that we always try to sample whatever food is available….we don’t scout around looking for familiar food…I know many people who will not rest until they find a south indian place serving dosa in ladakh or searching for paneer butter masala in the deep south of india and lament “they don’t know how to make it” …. I will keep this for later though!!

We’ll happily eat at roadside eateries and let me tell you they serve the most wonderfully authentic local food…we’ll also eat at expensive and famously exclusive restaurants and hotels…..at the cost of reverse snobbery, let me admit that some of our best travel food experiences have been at the most humble of places…..while I like to be careful about the how and where the food is cooked and served, I sometimes send out a silent prayer about the state of the nails of the person serving / cooking the food when I just cant help it!!

A few weeks ago, we made one such impromptu trip to Bangalore by a particularly uncomfortable “sleeper Coach” bus. These are regular transport buses that are fixed with sleeping berths that are custom built for claustrophobia and very little sleep……if you thought lying down flat on your back is better than sitting in an uncomfortable “fully push back luxury” seat, then I recon you have never travelled for 12 hrs in the last berth of the bus, where every pebble you go over feels like a crater about 2 meters deep….anyway I digress again….

We rushed to buy tickets and grabbed the only available ones….we came back home and just had enough time to fling a few sets of clothes together in a bag and lock the house to reach the boarding point. To our luck, the bus enroute to where we were, got stuck in traffic and we had about half an hour to wait…..we were ravenous to put it mildly…..looking around the place were were standing which is almost on the outermost fringe of the city, we realized there was little to chose from, hot oversweetened tea and abject hunger or hot off the pan omlette with rotis  made on a cart nearby that were emanating some tantalising aromas. I fell for the latter and didn’t regret it one bit. I have to say the aamlette(as it was pronounced) and roti was wonderful. It was piping hot, crisp and soft parts, yummy with chilli powder and fresh coriander mingling with chopped onion and green chillies and very filling. It even made the back breaking journey a little more bearable!!

To make it yourself

I c whole wheat flour, kneaded with enough water to make a firm but elastic dough. Divide it into 2 equal balls, dust with dry flour and roll into even disc about 8 inches in diameter. You could also use leftover chapattis.

Beat two eggs, add 2-3 T of finely chopped onion, 1 T fresh coriander/ cilantro, salt to taste, finely chopped green chillies, ½ t red chilli powder.

Cook the chapatti on a hot skillet till almost done. Pour the omelette mixture onto the roti and flip it over till the egg mixture is cooked. Fold the chapatti on the sides to make a triangle to conceal the cooked egg. Flip it over again to cook it crisp. Cut into slices to make for easy eating and serve hot.

Fuss free and fabulous – just the way I like my food.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. priyanka says:

    enjoyed reading ur post…..what i would give to be able to travel at the drop of a hat and savor the culinary delicacies and street foods:)

  2. Great post Arundati..The aamlette roti sounds yummy..

  3. Bhawana says:

    🙂 I agree everywhr we cant get the food we like. I remember when we went to a south India trip everywhr we cud find just idli dosa sambhar. and we had roadsides dhabas many times. but was a good exp 🙂

  4. Raaga says:

    Something we love to eat… at he many roadside dhabas outside call centres in Gurgaon… anda paratha 🙂

    yes…even the ones outside hitech city and the other hubs are always crowded at lunch / dinner time

  5. Aparna says:

    True, Arundati. Some of the best food one gets is at those little places. I remember that the best masala tea I’ve ever had was at a small rickety tea shop on the road to Kodaikanal.

    what is it with rickety chai stalls at hill stations?? i had some excellent masala chai enroute munnar!!

  6. Cynthia says:

    Oh gosh, if I could buy that daily, I’d eat breakfast all the time! That looks too good.

    yeah i so totally agree!!

  7. Vidya says:

    My husband and I were like that too, before having kids. We travelled a lot and those unplanned trips were more memorable and fun than the planned ones. One differnce though – i was (and still am) picky about what i ate. I made him search for a South indian restaurent in Kathmandu and had Rasam rice 🙂

    i agree with the unplanned vs planned ones…. cant believe you searched for and FOUND rasam rice in kathmandu!!

  8. Sig says:

    oh how I miss the Indian street food… I’m sure my stomach is much weaker now, but I’d definitely go for it whenever I get a chance.

    i’d say it is well worth the chance??

  9. sra says:

    At the cost of someone else’s reverse snobbery, in Tirupati I had to eat in one of those cheap, dirty South Indian hotels that constantly smell of leftover South Indian food rotting in a heap behind the restaurant! 😀 God! It was awful, especially when there was a lovely alternative just a wall away!

    After getting that off my chest, I have to say that one of the best meals I ate was off a roadside hotel near Pudukottai in TN, great non-veg food, kothu parota and all that. In Goa too, we had nice experiences at such restaurants.

    eeewww……that must have been more than horrid!! i love kothu parota and the best i had was also at a roadside stall in coimbatore…..i guess you have to go thru a lot of rubbish to find the gems!!

  10. Arundathi says:

    yum – love it! did you see the photo? and the post?

    saw it and loved it…and thank you for sending it my way…..

  11. Mallika says:

    It’s been a long time since I’ve enjoyed street food because of a weak belly. I miss it so much! The recipe will come in handy at home though!

    most people believe that street food is because of where/how and by whom it is made….and one can never replicate it at home cos of the hygiene!! 😉

  12. sailaja says:

    I can relate to your post, Arundati, i.e before the birth of Nehal. It was just Satish and me and we love to take off without any planning and most of the time we would drive hundreds of miles and enjoy the local delicacies sold by street vendors. I’d pray that our immunity doesn’t fail us during these travel phases. 🙂

    With Nehal’s birth its always planned travel schedules (infact we hardly travel much since his birth) and you can say I don’t practice what I preach (with my son). I just don’t have the courage and heart to let him savor street food. 🙂

    Some of my best foodie moments is during our travels, eating by wayside dabhas. Thanks so much for reminding me of them!

    i agree Sailu, with a child the lesser the risks esp. with food, the better it is…..i was quite a fussy eater till i entered the hostel and then lived on my own…i too would send out a silent prayer that i would not fall sick…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

