Brinjal with Nigella Seeds ~ Kalonji Baingan Recipe

if I were to categorize most of what I post here, it would more or less fall into the category of  what my mother used to call “no nonsense cooking”…. my cooking, as is very evident, is biased towards easy and quick, not to mention very simple food…. and I tend to agree….. The last thing I have the energy for is elaborate complicated cooking….. Since I anyways palpitate while baking, I wouldn’t want to repeat the action while cooking!!

Besides, since I began blogging, K eyes everything I turn out with suspicion….he’s more likely to eat and appreciate simple stuff than elaborate….and since he is at my mercy for food, I pity his plight and mostly keep the elaborate stuff for special occasions or when we have company and good behavior prevails in the home over everything else…bah!!

Brinjals were eaten rarely in our home, my mother is allergic to them. If it was made at all, it would be in a side dish, which she could avoid and not in stuff like sambhar or with a combination of other veggies. I tend to stir fry it mostly, as it gets done in no time with the most minimum of ingredients. In this preparation, I used kalonji (nigella), which is one of my favourite spices to cook with. I use kalonji as a seasoning instead of mustard and cumin seeds in many dishes and I like the flavour and fragrance. I saw on a television program, the chef’s advise was to always splutter the kalonji in hot oil. It tends to give out a bitter taste if it is put into cold oil and then heated.

This stir fry is good with both rotis and rice. from pan to plate in about 12 minutes (chopping of veggies not included!!)

Other recipes with Kalonji (Nigella) on Escapades:

Rajasthani Makai ki sabzi

Kalonji Baby Aloos / Potato

Hyderabadi Mirchi ka Saalan

For the kalonji baingan (2 servings)

3 c purple baby brinjals, cut in wedges (or any other shape you like, but not chopped too small)

A few curry leaves

½ t kalonji / nigella seeds

Salt to taste

1 t Red Chilli powder

1 T oil

2 green chillies, slit

In a pan (I used non stick) heat the oil and splutter the kalonji seeds. Add the curry leaves and fry for a few seconds. Add the brinjal wedges and slit green chillies and stir fry for a couple of seconds till well coated in the oil. Cover and cook on the lowest heat for abt 5 minutes or till the brinjal has almost cooked. Add the salt and the red chilli powder, stir and cook for another 3-4 minutes. If not using a non stick pan, sprinkle water onto the vegetable. Basically it should cook in its own steam. Check for doneness. Serve hot with rotis or rice.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jude says:

    It’s a bit rough sometimes when I mistake nigella for black sesame seeds… So delicious in the proper recipe, though. Thanks for this recipe!

    i know exactly what you mean…they’re so similar in appearance!!

  2. Happy Cook says:

    In my home brinjal was used just foe sambar as none of us kids like it. But now i seems to love this vegetable.

  3. arundati says:

    thank you all….one free afternoon and some baby steps at trying to change my “lemme not mess with this, i might just lose all the posts” personna led to this template….glad you all like it….though i cant edit comments any more…. 😦

  4. Sig says:

    hey, this place looks different 🙂 I am into the no nonsense cooking too, well most of the time…this dish looks simple and flavorful!

  5. G.pavani says:

    hi,First time here,it looks nice…kalonji baingan looks yummy and delicious

  6. Priya says:

    Yummy n looks delicious, i love anything with brinjals..

  7. Srivalli says:

    Hey thats nice one..when did you change the template..looks good!

  8. Uma says:

    mmm. looks so delicious. New look of your site is nice.

Leave a Reply

