Mixed Love ~ Easy Mixed Vegetable Curry Recipe

mixedlove

It isn’t uncommon to have me stare at a few vegetable odds and ends and wonder how the hell I am going to make a meal out of what I see…..it used to throw me off gear and the head of the serpent that hissed I was pathetic at running my house raised itself…..then I realized, I need’nt waste time judging myself by the contents of my vegetable crisper….( Yeah I am strange)…. On their own, they may be meager….but thrown into a hotpot together, they do a merry dance….afterall no one need know that the mixed vegetables weren’t together by chance……so they lent themselves to a stew or pulav or a side dish …. With the addition of some fuss free masala, they’d be as good as a nicely planned item on the men…. and no one was the wiser!! this is a winner and for a while was my signature dish….it was in no way indicative of my home management skills!!


Mixed Vegetables (serves 2)

2 ½  – 3 c mixed vegetables, chopped into 1 inch chunks (I used potato, green beans, cauliflower and carrot)

2-3 T chopped onion

½ t ginger garlic paste

1 green chilly slit

½ t  turmeric

Salt to taste

1 T oil

½ t cumin seeds

Fresh coriander to garnish

a few curry leaves

Dry roast and grind together into a rough paste: 2 T coconut fresh or dried, 1 dried red chilly, 1 t cumin seeds, ½ t coriander powder

In a pan, heat the oil and splutter the cumin seeds, sauté the onions till they begin to turn translucent. Add the turmeric, ground masala, the slit green chilly and ginger and garlic paste and sauté a couple of minutes till it turns brown. Add the chunks of vegetables and mix gently till well coated. Add salt, 1 cup water and cover and simmer 5-6 minutes till the vegetables are tender and not overcooked. Add the curry leaves and fresh coriander leaves and remove from heat. Serve hot with rotis or rice and dal / sambhar.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Cynthia says:

    I think the title of this post aptly describes the dish 🙂

  2. Raaga says:

    The story of our lives 🙂 I’d throw in some rice and make a meal out of it 🙂

  3. Navita Hakim says:

    He he he Arundati…its the same scene everywhere…lol. Thats the common dilemma i face too. Hubby dear is amazed all the time. ;-p
    Lovely stew.

  4. DK says:

    Shows that its been a while since I came here last – I mean u changed ur template and I dint know about it till now! thats sad ! The dish is mixed love indeed. And anything with coconut – i am game for it 🙂

  5. Deeba says:

    Love your mixed love…trust you to think up something like this…well done! I’ve tagged you to allow you to rant!!
    http://passionateaboutbaking.blogspot.com/2008/11/hot-house-tag-eggciting-times.html

  6. Alka says:

    Thts the story of every kitchen and every refrigerator.Sum times it looks more as dumping ground than fridge! and this is such a lovely way to utilize all of teeny weeny remaining veggies !

  7. Bhawana says:

    very true, sometimes this happens. two days before in my fridge veg were like, 1 small carro, around 1 cup grated cabbage,1 1 spring onion bulb,1/2 onion and 1/2 green capsicum. I thought fine I will make something chinese as all were suiatable for chinese dish. but later my hubby said he will not be able to come early from the office. so I mixed everything in flour and made parathas.. :)))))))) but I will say paratha come out verywell. all were leftovers veggies…

  8. Swapna says:

    Hi, thanks for ur comments.. and I made the mayo that went into the dip. By the way, this mixed love looks yummy…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

