Mutli Grain Oothapam Recipe

Edited to add: This is a post i wrote over the last weekend, and put on auto publish. When this comes up, Bombay is still fighting its battle against terror even after 40 hours…..it is mind numbing….yesterday we heard that a genteel chef who shared our church bench for 4 yrs and then moved to bombay was killed at the shootout at the Taj…. it has brought this so much closer. All we can do, is pray and hope. 


mgo

With me back into the workforce, there are still some changes to incorporate into my routine that will keep the home stead well oiled….its taking a while to get used to… after all, I did have a different lifestyle for 2 years….with some largescale compulsory attendance at social functions that ate into my precious weekend, Monday morning was wrought with “what’s for breakfast?” near panic……a little bit of dosa batter that was hived away for a quick snack was the centre around which breakfast was built…. I make dosa with wheat flour as the base, adding some other flours/ semolina etc…never following the same recipe….but haven’t had the courage to make it with ragi (millet) flour till now…. The sight of the food is as important as the taste at my house…. I have K to consider, and didn’t think he would be too happy about blushing pink anything on this plate!! I have to thank the fact that he was sleepy enough not to notice the colour when he took the first bite, and then it was love after that …

mgo1

I used leftover and thus fermented dosa batter, a fresh mixing of flours and standing it for a bit too will do the trick with a pinch of soda bicarb to hurry things along is what I think….

Multi Grain Uthapam (makes 10 4 inch ones)

1 c dosa batter

2/3 c millet/ ragi flour

¼ c wheat flour

½ c rice flour

Salt to taste

1 green chilly chopped (large enough to be picked out)

1 t whole cumin seeds

1-2 T finely chopped coriander leaves

2 T finely chopped onions

In a bowl, combine all of the above, add ½ c water to get the right consistency. The batter should be a little thicker than dosa batter. Heat a skillet (I used non stick), pour a ladle full of batter onto it and wait for it to spread on its own like pancake mixture, aid it along if it is stubborn, but it shouldn’t be spread too thin. Add a few drops of oil at the edges and Let it cook till the edges are beginning to brown, flip over and cook on the other side. Serve hot with chutney podi, sauce, sambhar or chutney.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Srivalli says:

    So sad to hear about your friend…we are still not over the shock!…

    oothapams look good aru..

  2. Aparna says:

    These look good, Arundati. I tend to do this myself with whatever flour I have, but never used ragi flour for this. I shall next time.:)

  3. anudivya says:

    I am sorry about the loss of your friend. The whole episode is just too sad.

  4. Vij says:

    Sorry abou ur friend!hugs
    Healthy n yummy! gr8 post girl!

  5. I am still in shock about Mumbai. My Indian friends still have family there and my thoughts are with them and your friend. *HUG*
    Those oothapams looks so crispy and fantastic!

  6. Priya says:

    Sorry to heard about ur friend…its really heartbreaking news…

  7. sangeeth says:

    I feel very sad for mumbai! I was shocked when I heard t he news…why do they do this to us?anyways take care and loved ur dosa…if you think it will be good for diabetic people, do send it to my EH event!

  8. Happy Cook says:

    Sorry to hear about your friend. It is always the innocent people who suffers.

  9. Raaga says:

    Nice… I made something similar… no left over dosa batter though 🙂 I like multi grain bread/dosa/anything 🙂 http://chefatwork.blogspot.com/2008/02/ragi-doddak-with-onion-tomato-chutney.html

Leave a Reply

