Is there such a thing as a perfect breakfast? Recipe for Scrambled Eggs with Toast

eggsandtoast1

At the end of a tightly packed work week, there’s nothing better than unwinding on the weekend……spending a lazy morning poring over the newspapers……drinking that extra cup of coffee, while making a real attempt at the crossword……not looking at the clock every few minutes, actually chewing before swallowing food (ok I am exaggerating here!!) or simply spending the day lazing with a book or the TV whichever is the preferred entertainment provider of the day……

Breakfast is very important in our ecosystem……which means my system is tuned for breakfast by a designated time….the body I think doesn’t recognize weekends quite as enthusiastically as the rest of my senses! a filling and hearty breakfast with minimum effort suddenly then is such a weekend treat……bread and eggs fit the bill to a T……the blend of protein and carbohydrates makes it a top contender in my list of perfect breakfasts…..

Scrambled eggs with buttered toast…bliss on a plate and one of the simplest pleasures of life……I like my scrambled eggs with a little colour……chives, mint, fresh coriander, leeks, bits of tomato…..all add colour flavour and texture……this time I used fresh coriander and tomatoes……creamy, quick and filling, just the way breakfast should be.

this is my first post in this new year….it also is my 150th….i cant believe i lasted this long!! i had a lot of things lined up…to end the year…and to begin another blogging year….dekhte dekhte, its already the second half of the month….so lemme keep all the ideas to myself till i get down to actually doing something about them….

eggsandtoast

this is off to Celine’s “How do you like your eggs game” chaeck it out…..

Scrambled Eggs and Toast (for 1 person):

2 slices bread, toasted and buttered

2 eggs, beaten with 2 T milk,

salt and pepper to taste

1 t butter (if using salted, adjust in the eggs)

2 T finely chopped tomato

1 T finely chopped herbs of choice (fresh coriander, mint, chives or green onion)

In a pan, melt the butter, add the tomatoes and sauté for a minute or so till they just about begin to soften, add the fresh coriander and toss, add the beaten eggs and on low heat, stir till are cooked, but still creamy…take off the heat, pile onto a plate and serve warm with hot buttered toast.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Mallika says:

    Yes there is! Masala scrambled eggs top my list too… congrats on the big milestone as well.

    thanks babe…

  2. Arundhuti says:

    For me and my husband this is the perfect breakfast! the scrambled eggs look so good. You have a wonderful collection of recipes here.

    thanks so much… now i add to my collection of namesakes!!

  3. Navita Hakim says:

    Hi first time here…n m glad I visited…u’ve got an amazing array of recipes…
    love the scrambled eggs.. 🙂

    navita, thanks for visiting and am glad you liked my escapades…. hope to see you more often!!

  4. Sig says:

    Congrats on the century and a half darling! Hope to see you get to 200th soon…
    My body has gotten used to breakfast too, the only reason to get out of bed before 11 am on weekends 🙂

    i know what you’re talking about!! thanks for the wishes sweety…

  5. Alka says:

    First things first,Happy 150 dear:-)

    Hmm talking about weekends ,i hate getting up early on a holiday,so a late start,disrupts the whole schedule of the otherwise routine clock bound weekdays.And on top of it,with hubby and kiddie around everything goes at snails speed.just idling away whole day and the worst affected is breakfast.Though i dream about elaborated special weekend breakfast,but those keep cooking there only…in my dreams.The harsh reality is just a quick Poha or toasters(potato stuffed)or worse …some cornflakes
    Love this Burji(as we call it) it so simple to fix but alas both the man in my family stay off the nonveg

    i hate getting up early…even on weekdays!!

  6. Srivalli says:

    that of course looks great…congrats…:)

    thanks valli

  7. Happy Cook says:

    I love scrambles eggs, though i don’t make them that often, just once a while.
    Looks so yummy delicious.

    thanks HC

  8. bindiya says:

    this is actually comfort food for me,you got me craving some right now!,congrats on the 150th post,keep blogging!

    thanks for the wishes bindiya…

  9. Aparna says:

    150th post, great! And going strong, I hope. I can see you’re quite busy these days.

    My perfect breakfast (I can’t do without this meal) would be eating what I’m craving and it would be better if I didn’t have to make it. 😀

    Btw, I love cold butter on warm, crunchy toast!

    ooo little blobs of cold butter on hot crunchy toast… now that’s a match made in heaven!!

  10. sowmya says:

    happy new year..thats perfect for a sunday morning..

    thanks sowmya…am glad you liked it

  11. Swapna says:

    Hey babe… Happy 150th!!! Good going.. missed u..so try to post a bit more often 🙂

    thanks sweety…. you’re not doing too bad yourself!! i will try and post often…that’s something i have to do…else…i will begin to have withdrawal symptoms!!

  12. Raaga says:

    I know what you mean… I want to laze around and not enter the kitchen… but my stomach starts growling 🙂 that’s usually when we make a dash for Naivedyam 🙂

    :D….cant imagine you stealing from the naivedyam!! tsk tsk…. where’s your good mannered upbringing!!

  13. vij says:

    Perfect healthy breakfast!

    am glad you agree!!

  14. Asha says:

    Happy 150th, mine is coming fast too. Happy new year to you! :))

    There is nothing and no one is perfect in this World, my opinion. But this yummy comes very very close! Enjoy! :))

    thanks asha…

Leave a Reply

