Super Salad ~ Chickpeas Salad Recipe (High Protein)

Despite my denials, everyone around me likes to believe i am a serial dieter. I am hoarse with denial. The trip to the Himalayas brought me back home with a severe bout of acidity and i suffered for longer than i care to with the after effects of ghee and butter laden spicy food. That’s when I came accross Indira’s post on Workout Vratam. Kay here spoke about it and invited anyone else to join in. Just the thing i needed. And for the nth time, it isnt a diet for weight loss!! its a detox plan as far as i am concerned.

A high protein low carb diet for a vegetarian is a  bit of a challenge. And before I overdosed on cottage cheese, I decided to give vegetables and pulses a fair shot. I’ve made a modest list of things I can make without a fuss and will share some of it here. I find that the most challenging part of constructing a meal is decided what to make.  This is where a list helps immensely. It always leaves me with the satisfaction of a meal well planned and therefore makes it more satifying.

Salad

We’ve had my cheater’s Dahi Vada, which is a great way to get protein. Yesterday, I made this salad which was my dinner. It was filling and great on the texture and taste department too.

Super Salad – Serves 2

Time Taken 10 minutes

For the salad dressing, whisk together the following:

1 T olive oil

1 T lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

Salad

2-3 c shredded lettuce ( i used iceberg)

1 1/2 c diced ripe tomato

1 c peeled and diced baby cucumbers

1 c Boiled Chickpeas/ Garbanzo beans / Kabuli Chana

2 T diced red onion

3 T shredded fresh coriander leaves

1 T shredded fresh basil

toss all of the above into a large bowl and mix gently.  Add the salad dressing on top and toss a bit more. Serve immediately.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Maneesha says:

    Really nice and simple..but tell me..sometimes the iceberg lettuce is a bit bitter to taste..what should I do to get rid of the bitterness?

  2. Kay says:

    The salad looks yummy!

  3. Mythreyi says:

    Looks so fresh and healthy…..

  4. Lubna Karim says:

    Oh wow….health bhi…taste bhi….

  5. Sudeshna says:

    This is an amazing salad. I am a salad lover, though don’t prepare it much because my other family members do not like its blunt taste. But I will prepare this anyway.

  6. Raaga says:

    Would you believe I have the exact same salad minus the lettuce in my lunch today! Identical dressing too!

  7. RedChillies says:

    If only I could use the will power to do some dieting and food control 😦 Salad looks good.

  8. rekha says:

    wow very refreshing and healthy salad looks great.

  9. Rupa says:

    Wow, lovely salad…so crunchy. And I tried various stores in vain….where can I get that fresh iceberg…usually I see them wilted and rotting…even in those big supermarkets…..
    Which supermarket is the best one? even if its a bit away from home am ready to make the trip…I love lettuce that much…

Leave a Reply

