Eggless Tutti Fruiti Cake Recipe

I can’t remember the last time K asked me to bake something for him. Usually he hates the way the house smells when I am baking!! weird i know… but then… that’s him… quirks and all… So when a few days ago he asked me to bake “that kind of cake you get in these small bakeries, with the coloured tutti fruiti” I was determined to make it the best damn cake he’s eaten in that category! After all I had a point to prove… “ask and you shall receive … don’t just turn your nose up at my baking….” Is this making sense? I thought not…. Anyways then, over to the cake, I browsed a few recipes and then decided, pound cake it was going to be. I usually bake with vegetable oil, but since K asked, I was going to use “real butter”. I recall a pound cake calling for equal quantities of everything… so i just went ahead and made it up.

The batter was simple enough to make, but horror struck me when 10 minutes after popping the cake into the oven, the power went off!! i sent out an SOS to three baking pros. They all responded with a “let it stay in the oven, the texture may suffer and may sink a bit, but other than that no major damage”. So much for wanting to do all of this for K!! anyways, an hour later the power was back on and i extended the baking time by 5 minutes. The cake turned out fabulous. The texture was crumbly and yet rich with all that butter, I tasted and realised I’d really forgotten what baking with real butter tastes like!! I would definitely reduce the amount of butter tho, because it was too much for me!

K came back late that evening and forewent his dinner for a big piece of cake, and the next morning he wanted it for breakfast. I will surely be making this again considering the response it got! Try this one out…. its a winner!!

Eggless Cake with Tutti Fruiti -(makes 8 -10 slices)

(I made a really small portion, but feel free to double the ingredients)

1 cup All purpose flour (maida)

tiny pinch of salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 teaspoon baking soda

Sift all of the above together

2/3 cup butter at room temperature

2/3 cup sugar, powdered

1 teaspoon vanilla extract i made my own from this recipe

2 tablespoons ground flaxseed mixed with 2/3 cup warm water

1/2 cup milk at room temperature

2/3 cup mixed tutti fruiti and glaze cherries, chopped small

In a mixer or manually with a whisk and a bowl, Cream the butter and the sugar till smooth and fluffy, add the flaxseed mixture, vanilla extract and mix thoroughly. Add the flour in about 2-3 portions alternate with the milk, mixing well to incorporate it. Add the tutti fruiti and mix with a spoon or spatula. Grease a 6 inch baking dish (i used a bundt / tube pan). Pour the batter into the baking dish and bake for 20-22 minutes in a preheated oven at 185 degrees celcius. Check at 20 minutes with a cake tester and increase baking time by 4-5 minutes if required. Mine was done in 22 minutes. Cool in the pan completely on a wire rack (i forced mine out and hence it didnt come out clean). Slice and serve. i suppose this can be stored in the refrigerator, mine did not last for even 24 hours!!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. RJ says:

    Hello Arundhati, Could you please help me out with the measurement of butter in this recepie. 2/3 cup butter would be how in grams. i get unsalted butter in minimum 100 gms packaging in the Nilgiris store. Your response would be very helpful. I have messed up chocolate cake 2 times in my baking attempts for the first ever time.
    Regards,
    RJ

    1. arundati says:

      about 150 grams of butter at room temperature

  2. sahiti says:

    Hahaha…..I’ve proved myself……D
    Yeah, that cup is a part of of a set….and indeed there is a 1/3 cup measure which I don’t remember using……Thanks a lot Arundati…for taking trouble to explain….I’ll try this recipe this weekend.

    1. arundati says:

      alternatively you could use a tablespoon to fill the cup and count how many spoonsful…but if i were you, i’d just eyeball the measurement 🙂

  3. sahiti says:

    One stupid request….I find it difficult to measure 2/3 cup in my 200 ml cup….can you please help me? Sorry for the trouble Arundhati

    1. arundati says:

      hi sahiti…you could try measuring the outside of the cup with a scale from the base to the top, making three equal parts of it and marking it with a marker (from the outside tho). if you bought the cups in a set, you should have a 1/3 cup measure as well….hope this helps

  4. Alejandra says:

    That came out so pretty!!

  5. Rupa says:

    And wow, you made vanilla extract….thats amazing…

  6. Rupa says:

    Hey Anu,
    I may sound very silly…but should we grind the flax seeds along with the water or should we powder them and mix it with warm water…I have a packet of them at home ( bought at FabIndia) and have been waiting to use them…this seems so perfect….

    1. arundati says:

      nothing’s silly babe… i dry grind a few tablespoons and store in the fridge, just mix the required amount in water and use…. its difficult to wet grind smallish quantities….

  7. Asha says:

    YUM! I used to eat Tutti Fruitty cake in Bangalore, looks so good A, good job.

  8. Srivalli says:

    that looks great aru..good that K liked it!..

  9. Happy Cook says:

    I love tutti ffruiti cakes to which we get back home and this looks so soft and delcious.
    My hubby is opposite to your, he love the smell of baking especially when i make breads.

  10. Sujatha says:

    can we substitute flaxseed with something else Aru?

    I am not sure if I will be able to find this in Gurgaon.

    1. arundati says:

      sujatha, flaxseed is easily available everywhere.. try spar or even big bazar… else dahi will also do but am not sure of the texture… although i just substitute dahi for the quantity of eggs to make all my baking eggless… just add a pinch of baking soda to help along

  11. Raaga says:

    Nice nice… BTW, according to one of my candidates, K “foregoed” his dinner that day… God alone knows how I stopped myself from laughing in that interview when she said she “foregoed” her salary at some company!

    1. arundati says:

      😀

      1. nandita says:

        like saying ‘switch offed’

        cake does look pretty!

  12. Swapna says:

    That looks so good.. I show all these pics to Ichu and she demands a cake immediately..!!! huge fan of chocolate cake, though…

    1. arundati says:

      haha… sweet angel…just add 2-3 tbsp of cocoa powder and leave out the tutti fruiti… but then what would be the point…there are also a few chocolate cakes here on the blog….

Leave a Reply

