Corn Croquettes Recipe

I saw this on my dear friend Jayashree’s blog and I knew I had to make them soon…a large bag of sweet American corn was lying in the freezer and that was my biggest motivator!! We are big on cutlets and patties, this blog has a few them featured here. I usually make cutlets or patties out of a variety of ingredients, some become favourites, and some are disappointments!! This one is a winner……great as finger food (if made into smaller portions) it was an instant hit!! Try it, you wont be disappointed. Shree!! Your recipe rocks!!

For the corn croquettes:

2 cups corn kernels, steamed

1 cup boiled and mashed potato

Salt to taste

1 tsp (or less) red chilly powder

½ t cumin powder

3 T finely chopped fresh coriander

1 t lemon juice

3-4 T fine bread crumbs

3-4 T oil

Method:

Steam the corn kernels in the microwave or stove top for about 5-6 minutes. Cool and add to a blender jar, pulse 3-4 times for 1-2 second bursts to get a coarse paste. Add all the other ingredients except the oil and mix with a wooden spoon (or your hand if you dont mind it) till it comes together in a mass. check for seasoning and adjust according to taste.make into lemon sized balls and roll round between your palms, flatten and set aside.

Heat a skillet, i use non stick, add a tablespoon of oil and spread it around. When relatively hot, place about 6 of the croquettes around the pan in a circle and cook them till they are nicely browned, drizzle a little oil if needed. turn them over and cook on the other side as well till golden brown. Repeat till all have been fried. Turn them onto a serving plate and serve hot with a dip or sauce

12 Comments Add yours

    1. arundati says:

      thanks madhura…. i hope you will try it out too

  1. Divya Vikram says:

    Nice looking appetizer. Perfect finger food..

  2. sig says:

    I love corn cakes, always throw in a few corn kernels when I make veg cutlets. These look lovely!

  3. Swapna says:

    Oh… I loved this recipe..will definitely try it…

  4. deeba says:

    O BTW, I don’t buy the frozen sweetcorn, I do my own..tee hee

  5. deeba says:

    U can guess why I’m here, hot on your blessed heels, but for now I’m settling for theses yum corn patties. Love them, and have to make them soon. Now I’m hungry for dessert, and will be back soon dahling! HUGS!

  6. nandita says:

    Have never made these before – saw a half kilo bag of fresh corn at O’Naturals, thought i wont use it – so did not buy, next time I do, i’ll try this – the yellow sweet corn is okay for this or the white ones?

  7. Karishma says:

    Was thinking today morning of what to do with my bag of corn kernels in the freezer and found this recipe waiting in my google reader! Thanks!

  8. rachel says:

    Absolutely divine…

  9. Latha says:

    yummy and delicious.

  10. Pavani says:

    Those croquettes look absolutely delicious. Perfect for our snowy cold winter weather.

Leave a Reply

