Lachcha Paratha

Lachcha Paratha
Lachcha Paratha

This is my very brave attempt at NaBloPoMo. Wish me luck gentle readers! I will be hoping to post here every day of this month. Hopefully I will have something to say that does not upset you too much and you will come and leave comments. I am very bummed that comments on this blog have fallen to an all time low even though visitors have skyrocketed. Why do you think that is?

Moving on to the Lachcha Paratha which is one of my favourite Indian Breads. It is a fancy roti and can be made with wheat flour instead of maida and doesn’t lose its sass. Just up my alley if you ask me!

Laccha Paratha (Makes 6)

 

Whole Wheat Flour     – 2 Cups

Oil                               – 4 tablespoons

Salt                              – to taste

Warm Water                – as per requirement for kneading

In a bowl, take the wheat flour and salt and mix well. Add the oil and rub it into the flour with your fingers.

Add the warm water a little at a time and knead into a firm yet elastic dough. Knead the dough a bit and leave to rest for 30 minutes.

Divide the dough into 6 equal parts and roll it out using a little dry flour into a roti about 6-7 inches in diameter. Using your fingers spread a teaspoon of oil evenly onto the rolled out dough. Pick up the ends of the rolled out roti and fold it like a handmade paper fan.

Once you have a pile of folds, hold the two ends and shake it a bit to elongate the dough. Roll it into a circle like a snail. Press down lightly and using a little dry flour, roll it out into a layered roti about 6 inches in diameter.

Cook the paratha on a hot griddle for a few minutes, basting with a little bit of oil as you turn it over. Repeat with all the other portions of dough and serve hot with a gravy or curry of choice.

Wish me luck and cheer me along for NaBloPoMo. Check out the other bloggers who are  doing this as well.

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Apu says:

    They look good. I made lachha parathas recently and we loved them.

  2. Sendhil says:

    Good one. me too planning to try 🙂

  3. Snehal says:

    Good luck with NaBloPoMo.

    I recently saw the method for making laccha paratha on youtube and was thinking of making it. Your post inspires me now!

    Btw – you shouldn’t worry about the comments. I think it’s just much easier to hit a ‘Like’ on facebook these days.

  4. Spandana says:

    Parathas look delicious… they will be great wil paneer jalfrizi, which is coming up on Monday in my space 😉
    Read your interview in Wow..It was a good read. Congrats.
    And all the best for the event..
    And do not worry about the comments, even comments in my blog went as low as zero.. but the point is you have visitors and readers 🙂 Cheer up and All the best!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Paratha looks yummy will try this weekend.
    .All the very Best for NaBloPoMo…..will be reading along …Looking forward more recipes …..Happy Blogging!!

  6. Nupur says:

    The paratha looks wonderful! I has been ages since I attempted any kind of bread- maybe I’ll try it this month.

    Good luck for NaBloPoMo- I’ll be reading along and cheering you.

  7. radha says:

    All the best. Every day blogging translates to more recipes for you to share with us. Great!

Leave a Reply

