Asian Raw Mango Salad ~ Thai Inspired

on
Asian Raw Mango Salad
Asian Raw Mango Salad

For those of you who missed out, my fellow blogger Siri and I went to The Thai Pavilion a few months ago and were treated to a beautiful meal. The less said about how much I ate, the better. One of the things that stood out for me in that meal was the Raw Mango Salad. I have always been a green papaya salad fan, but this time, the crunchy tangy raw mango won my heart over. I made this when raw mangoes were in abundance, and although they are almost all but over, I had to post this recipe here. Try it and am sure you will love it.

The simple flavours, fresh crunch of the bell peppers and the nuttiness of the ground nuts and sesame seeds just blend beautifully into this salad. Best had in 1/2 cup portions.

Asian Raw Mango Salad
Asian Raw Mango Salad

Asian Raw Mango Salad (Serves 4)

This is a simple Thai inspired salad that uses crisp raw green mangoes

1 Cup – Raw Green Mango (Peeled and Grated)

1/2 Cup – Red Bell Pepper  (sliced very thin)

½ cup – Yellow Bell Pepper (sliced very thin)

A few sprigs of Fresh Coriander

Salt and pepper – to taste

1 Tablespoon – Jaggery

1 tablespoon – Peanuts

1 tablespoon – Sesame Seeds

In a dry pan, over medium heat, roast the sesame seeds and peanuts separately till golden. Remove and cool. Remove the skin of the peanuts. Pound this in a mortar and pestle along with the Jaggery to form a coarse powder. Set aside

Grate the raw mango and slice the bell peppers very thinly. Chill these till you are ready to serve.

To serve, Mix together the raw mango, bell peppers, salt and pepper. Pile onto a serving plate, top with fresh coriander and sprinkle generously with the Jaggery peanut powder. Serve chilled.

This salad should be assembled just before serving else, it will get soggy.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my! you made the raw mango salad. Yours looks so much better than the one we ate at Thai Pavillion. Love the vibrant colors and peanut crunch on top. Bookmarking it. 🙂

    P.S – I simply love the lighting and the camera angle in the first pic. 😀

    Siri

    1. arundati says:

      you know what? I couldn’t get the salad out of my head till I made it although I am sure I didn’t replicate it correctly… Was yummy nonetheless. Thank you master photographer… your praise means a lot to me… but that too was taken on the outside table, on auto setting! bwahahahaha

Leave a Reply

