Foxtail Millet and Vegetable Patties ~ Gluten free recipe

on

I haven’t disappeared. Just been engulfed with things that happen in my non-blog world. I have opened this window countless times to just say hello or post a recipe, and shut it either because the words didn’t come out right (if at all), or I was too tired to even type out a recipe. 

A couple of years ago I began cooking (infrequently) with Millets. We first began buying and using them because they are nutritious and suited Amma’s diabetic diet. Later when we found our dog Sage was gluten intolerant, we switched him over to rotis made out of a combination of millets and rice flour. Millets now find themselves on the shelf with the other staples in my kitchen. Considering how long I have been cooking with them, I am quite ashamed I haven’t posted too many recipes here.

The easiest way to introduce yourself to millets, is to buy the flour and add it to dosa batter. I discovered foxtail millet and have been using it to replace rice to be eaten with dal, vegetables and curries and make pulav or upma with it. This millet looks like broken rice and is neutral in taste and flavour and hence is a good candidate to take for a test run if you are just starting off on millets. Ofcourse K won’t touch anything non mainstream with a barge-pole and one of the ways I got him to eat foxtail millet was to repeatedly sneak it into patties! He loves cutlets of all kinds, shapes and colours and sizes. 

This pattice recipe is quite simple and versatile enough to accommodate whatever vegetables you may have on hand, so feel free not to stick to the ones I used!

foxtail millet and vegetable patties
foxtail millet and vegetable patties

Foxtail Millet and Vegetable Patties

(Makes 8 medium patties)

Potato                                        2 medium, boiled, peeled and crumbled

Foxtail Millet                          1/2 cup, soaked in water for 2 hours, pressure cooked with 1 cup water for 2-3 whistles

Corn Kernels                           1/4 cup, fresh or frozen

Peas                                             1/4 cup, fresh or frozen

Carrot                                         1/2 cup, grated

Salt and pepper                      to taste

Lemon juice                            1 teaspoon

Fresh coriander leaves       a small bunch, chopped finely

Fresh Ginger                           1/2 inch piece, grated or chopped finely

Cumin Powder                       1/4 teaspoon

Garam Masala                        1/4 teaspoon (optional)

Red Chilli Powder                1/2 teaspoon (adjust according to spice tolerance)

Gram Flour (besan)             1-11/2 tablespoons (adjust according to the requirement for binding)

Oil                                                2-3 tablespoons for frying

Wash and soak the foxtail millet. After 2 hours, pressure cook with 1 cup water for 2-3 whistles. When cooled, fluff with a fork.

Add the peas, corn and grated carrot to a bowl and cook on high power in the microwave oven (or blanch in hot water on a stove top) for 3 minutes.

Crumble the potatoes, add the cooked millets and the rest of the ingredients  except the gram flour. Mix together and do a taste test. Adjust salt and spices according to your preferance. 

take a small portion of the mixture and shape into a patty, if it does not hold shape, add the gram flour with 1/2 tablespoon of water and mix together. Make 8 portions, shape into a round and flatten into a patty. 

Heat a frying pan (I use a non stick one) on medium high heat till hot. Add 2 tablespoons of oil swirl the pan so that the oil coats the whole cooking surface. Gently place the patties onto the pan and fry on medium heat for 5 minutes till golden brown. Flip over and fry on the other side too. 

Serve hot with sauce or chutney. 

~

Reader’s of my blog know that I do the disappearing act now and then. It’s some wonder that you are all still here, even if you stumbled upon my blog by chance, please stay, say hello and leave me a comment. A few days ago, we hit the magic number of 10K fans on the facebook page. Those of you who are subscribed to the page will get all the updates as they happen. I have merged the pages of the blog and the classes for the sake of my sanity. So while I apologise for the bombardment of class schedules, hopefully regular programming of recipes, tips and other fun stuff will resume quickly. 

The Culinary Escapades classes have been doing very well. Thank you for your love and support. It all started right here, on this blog. I still remember being super excited when I baked my first ‘edible’ cake. I remember tagging them as ‘baking escapades’ with their own numbers! I cannot believe I am teaching baking and slaying baking demons today. I am grateful for the love and the encouragement I receive each day through this blog. I’m doing multiple classes now, teaching all sorts of recipes from salads to chocolates. I’ve done classes with just one person and groups from corporate offices too. Each class I teach, I learn much more than I give. I’ve gained beautiful friendships and experienced the encouragement of friends who will push me to announce a class or force me to undertake an order for a batch of cupcakes. 

Today in my Dessert making class, I spoke for the first time about how I spent my teens and early twenties trying to prove so hard that I wasn’t a girly girl. I tried to be tough and break every stereotype. People who knew me through school and college gag at the fact that I write a food blog and that I teach cooking. But the truth is, I have found myself in the last 8 odd years, I have made peace with the demons both inside and outside my head, I have learnt to listen to my heart and do what makes me feel good. If this translates into being every form of stereotype, then so be it, because today, it does not make me upset to have a label stuck to me. I know better than to judge my life or that of anyone else’s with a set of words. 

If you want to see the pictures of our dessert making shenanigans, click here

On that note, I wish you a beautiful weekend and wherever in the world you are, stay happy. 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. hAAthi says:

    That last para — ditto ditto ditto. Like I keep saying, falling in love with food (cooking it, and not just eating it, I mean :P) has taught me to never say never, and to basically avoid every aversion (and not just in food!) possible, to keep an open mind, try everything once and give most things a second chance. Because life has repeatedly showed me that the things you detest and run away from, usually come back to get you!

    1. arundati says:

      so true! karma comes back to bite your backside, mostly when one is feeling so sure of choices!

    2. Lalitha says:

      I am looking for a place to purchase Foxtail Millet where can I buy this in Sydney

      Thank You

      1. arundati says:

        You could check in a store stocking organic whole grains or an Indian store perhaps. I have no idea about Sydney. Else you can try to buy it online

  2. Yay! for this post especially for the last paragraph. Resonates with my life too. It is important to NOT ignore but fight the demons inside us. It will be tough, I realized but to live life on peaceful terms is important too! Congratulations on 10K page likes. Cheers to many many more.

    Hugs,
    Siri

  3. rowaidha essop says:

    Thank you soooo much for the amazing recipes…and also..thank you for your well wishes at the end of your recipes. I think you are so cool…thank you. And god bless

    1. arundati says:

      thank you Rowaidha for your kind words. Do let me know how you liked the recipe

Leave a Reply

