Oat and banana vegan cake

I’m terrified of excluding food groups from diets. I’m terrified of encountering people on strict restrictive diets for no medical reason (allergies or intolerance) but just because it is a current fad. I’m tired of trying to explain that vegan need not necessarily mean low calorie and that gluten free doesn’t guarantee that it’s healthier. A lot of these terms are used loosely by people and I’m terrified of that. What makes me make such blanket statements? I run a cooking and baking studio and I meet a lot of health fiends who I have a trying time getting through to.

Unvalidated information on the internet about anything ranging from health to fitness and the best way to bring up a baboon become gospel truths and I have a problem with that. Back to this cake. I’ve been baking with whole grains and no eggs for ages now. My in laws don’t eat eggs and my father in law who has a massive sweet tooth enjoys the occasional slice of cake. This requirement to bake a diabetic friendly vegetarian treats has led to many experiments, most of which turn out to be good reliable recipes.

While the cakes are better off nutritionally with whole grains and low GI ingredients by way of millet flours or oats, they are in no way supposed to be had in large portions. Yes they are treats and cannot substitute a normal nutritive diet are meant to be treated as an occasional indulgence. The difference is that this cake will be suitable for a vegan or someone who is intolerant to dairy or a vegetarian who avoids eggs even in a disguised form. It will also be a cake that uses unrefined sugar which may be very marginally better than refined sugar.

This is also a cake that will be less sweet and rich than a regular cake, but don’t fool yourself that you can get your daily dose of fruit from this or any other cake! This morning I went to my studio to bake a pupcake and figured since the baking would take a while I could make some snacks for home as well. I also baked a batch of Savoury cookies which I’ll post later.

For the cake:

In a bowl, mix together the following

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4cup ragi flour

3/4 cup powdered quick cooking oats

1.5 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda and salt

1 teaspoon or more powdered cinnamon

In another bowl, whisk together till dissolved

2/3 cup jaggery powder

1 cup banana puree

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup coconut milk

1 teaspoon vanilla essence Mix the dry into the wet, till a lump free batter is formed. Pour into a 7 inch cake tin that has been brushedwith oil and lined with baking paper.

Sprinkle the top of the cake with seeds or chopped nuts of choice. Bake in the middle rack of a preheated oven at 180 c for 35-40 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before slicing. Enjoy with some tea or coffee.

Leave a Reply

