Chocolate Truffles

walnut and whiskey chocolate truffles

For the longest time since learning to make chocolates, I haven’t had the time to experiment. Between classes and orders, I have been bulk producing a few stock recipes for chocolates. This hasn’t been very easy on my conscience and every time I saw a new recipe for chocolates, I’d moon over it….last afternoon I set off to remedy this…and this is what I churned out…. The results have made me realize that I did miss out on a great deal all these days after all!!

I took a few pointers from some of the recipes I saw online here, here and here ….and finally did my own thing…they turned out very well….and I was happy with the results….k said they were unbelievably good……considering the mounds of chocolate he has access to at home….i think his verdict can be considered pretty objectively……

image_thumb1.pngi think this is just in time for Bindiya’s new event which celebrates all our favourite things.…this month is chocolate

this is also being sent off to the JFI: Chocolate, hosted by Deepz of Letzcook. Jhiva is the brainchild ofjfi_chocolate1.jpg Indira from Mahanandi.

Walnut truffles (makes about 25 truffles)

250 grams dark / semi sweet / bitter chocolate cut into small pieces

½ cup unsalted cooking butter

2-3 tbsp icing sugar (increase or decrease depending on how sweet you want it)

¼ cup walnuts chopped fairly coarsely

3 tbsp walnuts chopped really fine

In a microwave safe bowl melt the butter for 30 seconds. Add the chopped chocolate and heat again for about 30 seconds. With a dry spoon, mix well till well blended and glossy. Add the icing sugar and walnut pieces and mix well. Keep this mixture in the refrigerator for about an hour or so till set. Remove from the refrigerator and scoop out small portions of the chocolate mixture with a melon scoop (I used a teaspoon). Shape to a round rolling between your palms like a laddoo. Take the finely chopped walnuts in a small bowl. Put the chocolate truffles in this and shake till well coated. Transfer to truffle cups or just a tray / plate with butter paper. Refrigerate for a couple of hours.

Truffles have a very short shelf life and they must be stored below 18 degrees Celsius and consumed within 5-6 days.

Whiskey truffles

Using the same method as above, I omitted adding the coarsely chopped walnuts in the chocolate mixture and added 2 tablespoons of whiskey ( I used blender’s pride). The truffles were coated in candy strands and chocolate strands.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Zlamushka says:

    Beautiful truffles!

    Can I take a bite ?

    sure!! be my guest!! and make it a mouthful!! 🙂

  2. Suganya says:

    Truffles are poppable. Just the right size. They are versatile too. But chocolate is child’s play for you 🙂

    thanks….that i think to my ears sounds like a lovely compliment!! but you can easily do it too!!

  3. bindiya says:

    Thanks a lot for the fabulous entry, these are just superb! Love and hugs,
    Bindiya

    i think this is for the first time that i have sent in an entry at the beginning and not begged for an extension of date!! see how chocolate inspires us!! 🙂

  4. Aparna says:

    I loooooove chocolate. These are great. I have got the address of a baking supplies store in Kochi. Let me see what I find there.

    yay!! best of luck…they’re very simple actually……so try them out!!

  5. lakshmi says:

    fantastic looking truffles – i had my eye on chocolate strands i saw at my store 😀 – bought a pack for next truffle making session – hehe

    creme fraiche apparently can be made at home. will let me know how experiment goes. here’s a basic drift i could gather from a few recipes online – 1 cup fresh cream+2 tbsp buttermilk – stir well and cover loosely and ferment overnight.

    hi lakshmi……soon after i saw the comment from bee, i checked tarla dalal’s site and it said something similar to what you’ve posted…..thanks…do try and lemme know how it turned out…btw i made truffles again for a friend and they turned out fabulous !!

  6. Miri says:

    Looks really good – truffles always seem to have that “difficult” tag attached – you made it seem so simple!

    the simplicity really lies in relishing them!! 🙂 ……thanks miri!!

  7. rachel says:

    those definitely look lovely!

    thanks rachel!! try them out ……….

  8. Raaga says:

    Finally… I have a recipe from the queen of chocolates 🙂 will try this.

    dear namesake….after all the asking…you’d better try this one out!! else my spirit will haunt you………. booo 🙂

  9. Nags says:

    these look so professional. Are you telling me you get all these in Hyd? Leave a comment in my blog telling me where, wont you? is it from q mart?

    yeah you do get all of this in hyd…. actually i buy everything from secunderabad…..i’ve left a comment on your blog as directed…..i am sure q mart has sprinkles….they have chocolate slabs for sure…i’ve picked it up from there several times….

  10. All those truffles are so delicious! I have started making truffles recently and just loved them! 🙂 Just got to know your name is arundati and you stay in India! Would you like to be a part of our arusuvai friendship chain? Please let me know.

    hi latha, i did link up to your vegan truffles in my post……i loved them too!! i am already a part of the friendship chain, tho my package seems to be lost in transit…have emailed you, will keep you posted….. 🙂

  11. Latha says:

    beautiful, Arundati! How do you source your ingredients in India?

    Dear Latha, cooking chocolate slabs are very easily available all over…atleast in the metros and tier II cities in india…any baking supplies shop or really good grocer / super market will stock it….. ditti for cooking butter and fresh cream also….the sprinkles i picked up from a bakery supplies shop…..:) glad you liked them!!

  12. bee says:

    have you tried gale gand’s recipe with creme fraiche or sour cream? we’ve tried it. awesome.

    http://www.baking911.com/recipes/chocolate/truffle_galegand.htm

    yours looks gorgeous.

    thanks bee….this is the first time i’ve made truffles and i am good to try out new recipes….i think i will need to find a substitute to sour cream….dont know if i can find it here…….have saved the recipe though ….hows the ranting going??

  13. Laavanya says:

    These look lovely and you make it sound all so easy… 🙂

    Dear Lavanya, they are quite simple to do actually…..just follow a recipe till you are confident enough to make variations of your own!! try them…you wont be dissappointed………..

Leave a comment