Dahi Vada Recipe


dahivada1.jpg

When amma is here with me, I always try and make some stuff which she loved to make and feed us as kids, but now because of her eyesight she can’t…..she loves watching me in the kitchen and will stay perched on a morra while I keep up with the experiments….all the while talking nonstop….filling me in on family gossip, stories that are a blast from the past and just about anything else…..she refuses to sit quietly….offering her help while I shoo her into a corner….she claims that shes not used to ‘idle time’ …infact given half an opportunity, she will insist on making atleast one meal per day….. each time she stays with me, I discover something about her that I was totally blind to earlier….i know that’s shocking considering how long we’ve lived together, and the relationship we share….but sometimes, we take for granted the things closest to us….people and relationships more importantly…..on one of her trips, I discovered she totally digs Dahi vadas…..i mean like, she can eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner…. I never had noticed this…ever!! I swear!! The last thing I’d have guessed was that dahi vada can make my mother almost loony!! Since I am a little watchful about deep fried stuff, I sacrifice items like puris and papads to fry these orbs of delight for my mother atleast once during each of her stays…though it needs a little preparation; they are well worth the effort.

thanks mansi for suggesting that i send this over to your Monthly Mingle….this month is all about appetizers and hors’deouvres . Dahi vada is a sure fire party hit!! MM is the brainchild of Meeta and this month hops over to Fun and Food


Dahi vada (makes about 30)

1 kg of fresh yoghurt (make sure it isn’t sour)

1 cup whole urad dal, soaked for 3-4 hours and ground to a smooth batter with salt and very little water.To this add the following: ½ cup really finely chopped onions, 2-3 green chillies chopped fine, 9-10 black peppercorns crushed coarsely, 1 T finely chopped fresh ginger, 10-12 curry leaves finely chopped

For the seasoning:

1 T oil

1 t mustard seeds

1 T urad dal

1-2 dry red chillies

10-12 curry leaves

Heat a kadai / wok with about 3 inches of oil, scoop a dollop of batter into your palm, make a hole in the centre and drop into the hot oil. Dip hands in water for each vada to ensure it slides off. I prefer this to using a plastic bag. Drop as many as you can manage in the pan, ensuring it isn’t overcrowded and leaves room for the vadas to be turned. Fry till golden. Remove, drain in a colander, and when still hot, place in a bowl of water for about 3-4 mins and remove into a serving bowl. This ensures the oil is removed, and gives the dahi wada an unbelievably silky texture. Continue to fry, drain and soak the vadas till all the batter is used up.

In another dish, whish the yoghurt till smooth and there are no lumps. Add a little salt (remember the vadas are already salted). Pour this over the fried vadas till they are all well covered, remembering to pour extra yoghurt because the vadas will soak it up.

Heat oil in a pan, splutter the mustard seeds, add the rest of the seasoning ingredients, toast till the urad dal is golden, pour it on top of the dahi vadas. Chill and serve. Enjoy!!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Mansi says:

    Its been ages since I had these! they look so yummy Arundati! if you can’t get yourself to cook something for my monthly mingle, just send this in:) I will gladly gobble it up!:)D

  2. Swapna says:

    Nice post..I could see u cooking and ur mom giving company while I read it..Please convey my regards to your mom……

  3. Raaga says:

    looks lovely… I can’t remember when I last ate them 😦

  4. sig says:

    That is sooo sweet of you… I wish I could make my mom sit still while I cook for her… 🙂

  5. Siri says:

    Mothers are the best and what u said is to true Arundhathi.. even I didn’t know that my mom liked the junky street style samosas until very recently..and i felt exactly the same way as u ..

    the dahi vada looks yummy arundahti and I am sure ur mum must have loved those..:D

    Siri

  6. homecooked says:

    Looks delicious.Perfect for summer.

  7. Madhavi says:

    Looks mouth watering…

  8. nandita says:

    When did you make these? You dint tell me :P!!
    I like dahi vadas the guju way, with some sweet chutney, kala namak, red chilli powder etc on the top 🙂

    I have tagged you for a meme – i think you’ll enjoy doing it!

  9. delicious one..wish i had them right now

  10. sowmya says:

    looks delicious…

  11. Swati Raman says:

    🙂 ammas.. i could very well imagine how she would go one with the family gossips.. that was a nice post.. i love dahi vada and ur dahi consistency looks perfect… check out my dahi wada too… not much but a little different…

  12. Cham says:

    For the heat we have here, i just want to grab ur delicious bowl of dahi vada.

Leave a comment