Festive Fare ~ Diwali Recipes ~ Namak Paare

Namak Pare
Namak Pare

Diwali is around the corner and I always watch many beautiful recipes being posted all across blogs for festive cooking. Alas I always stand by and just watch. Going by my last track record, I mostly post after the festivals are over! To remedy that, who would have thought that this daily blogging for NaBloPoMo would help? For the next few days I will be posting easy to do festive fare. All those of you who are scared of traditional cooking, take heed in the fact that I am a novice too! The only thing I have to overcome is my aversion to deep frying!

Namak Paare are fried savoury pastry kind of snacks that can be made ahead and stored in an airtight box for a week or more. The thing with these snacks is that it is pretty straightforward and is made with ingredients that are in our everyday cooking ingredient list. no fancy running to the grocery store for me!

Namak Pare
Namak Pare

Namak Pare (Savoury Crackers)

This recipe makes about 8 cups full of fried namak paare

Maida                               2 cups

Whole Wheat Flour    1 cup

Oil                                      6 Tablespoons

Sooji                                  2 Tablespoons

Salt                                     to taste

Ajwain                              1 teaspoon

Water                                to knead a stiff dough

Oil for frying

Using just enough water mix all ingredients into a medium stiff dough that is pliable. Let the dough rest for an hour

Heat oil in a kadhai, divide the dough into 6 portions and roll out each one like a chapatti about 1/8th inch thick. Using a sharp knife cut through into diamond shapes or strips or squares.

Drop the strips into the hot oil and fry over a medium heat, stirring every now and then.

Remove the fried strips with a slotted spoon when golden – they will darken a shade as they sit continuing to cook as they cool. Store in an airtight tin after they have cooled completely.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Snehal says:

    I have an issue with deep frying as well. I end up avoiding most Diwali snacks because of it. I wonder if these could be baked!?

Leave a comment