Breakfast for Busy Mornings ~ Onion Uttapam Recipe

Making breakfast remains one of the most important tasks of the day…..in many ways also the most important meal of the day …. Amma would be irate if I left the house without breakfast and claim I didn’t have the time….rest assured the next day I would get my wakeup call at least half an hour early to pay for my sins of the previous morning…..when I set up my own home, I realized what it takes to set meal upon meal on the table everyday…for as long as it takes…apart from other realizations that it takes the patience of an angel not to clobber the ringer of the doorbell at 7 a.m on a Sunday ……breakfast continued to be a big part of the daily routine….i discovered south indian breakfasts with a vengeance, kept my weekends free for slightly more complicated stuff and learnt to plan ahead, just to make life less miserable…..now my abiding best friend is the wet grinder….and I panic if I am without my weekly stock of batter for idlis and dosas (in its many avatars)……

onion uttapam

Uttapam is something that I turn to when I have dosa batter that is a little over 2 days old….and turning a little sour…. An addition of some finely chopped veggies and spices and voila….gourmet breakfast is served in less time than it takes to brush your teeth. Crisp around the sides and soft and spongy towards the middle, it is what breakfast dreams are made of….. 🙂 ….. and on busy mornings, they can be eaten on their own with no other accompaniments

Uttapam that way is very versatile and accommodating….taking under its wing (quite literally) a wide array of vegetables….the only condition i can think of, is for the vegetables to be chopped fine so that they do not stick out from the batter like a different entity…..onions and tomato are the most popular accomplices of uttappam …. But beans, carrot, spinach and cabbage too make worthy counterparts.

The batter needs to be slightly thicker than normal dosa batter, and after ladling onto a hot griddle / tawa spreading with the back of a rounded spoon should be kept to a minimum so that the uttapam is nice and thick and spongy too……there are two ways of making uttapams, one is to cook the uttapam and sprinkle the top with the veggies before you flip it over…..and the second is to mix the veggies into the batter and make the uttapams….i prefer the second method on weekdays…because it is fuss free and reserve the first versions for weekends or when I am making it for guests…. Served with chutney or and sambhar, it will keep you going till way past lunchtime…….this is going off to WBB# 20….the fabulous event started by Nandita at Saffron Trail, and this month hosted by Mansi of Fun and Food…..Also to the mela of dosas which is being hosted by Srivalli

Onion Uttapam

makes about 6

3-4 cups Dosa batter (rice and urad dal in the proportion of 3:1, soaked overnight, ground to a smooth batter and fermented for about 6 hrs)

Salt to taste

1 tsp jeera (whole)

1 T finely chopped green chillies (reduce the amount if threshold for heat is lesser)

1 T finely chopped curry leaves

2 T finely chopped fresh coriander leaves

½ cup finely chopped onion

(Additionally / optionally 1 cup finely chopped vegetables of your choice)

Heat the tava / griddle. Mix all the ingredients together and spread a large spoonful of the batter onto the hot griddle. Spread slightly but not very thin, batter should be spread to about 1/3rd of an inch. Drizzle a little oil around the uttapam. Cook on medium heat till the sides begin to turn brown. Flip over and cook for half a minute. Serve hot with chutney / sambhar.

29 Comments Add yours

  1. rowaidha essop says:

    Sugar and spice makes all that more nice. …lol…proudly. ..south african indian…enjoying. india recipes.

    1. arundati says:

      Hello! Glad you are enjoying the recipes

  2. pareesha says:

    this is dinner tonight! thanks for the fab recipe. always looking for new inspiration! I have my own blog too. Included the link below! Thanks ❤

  3. amit says:

    i would like u to send me the recipe

  4. Billigflüge says:

    The best way to start the day with a delicious breakfast.
    I will try your recipe tomorrow and I have no doubt It will be like to fly into the sky =))
    Thanks a lot for the recommendation.

  5. Deeba says:

    Hi there Arundati…looks like you’re back in business & cooking! Killing 2 birds with 1 stone…hmmmmmmmmmm? Hve bookmarked the recipe coz I love uttapams & will feed them to the kids (hopefully) during the Easter break! Yr uttapams look really professional!! YUM YUM!!

  6. Seena says:

    Hi Arundati,
    Your blog looks so simple and nice. Thanks for visiting my blog. Have to come back to read more of your recipes.. 🙂

    Dear Seena, welcome to Escapades and thanks for stopping by….. thanks for the words of encouragement!!

  7. Bri says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had uttapam, but I am sooooo sold now. My husband and I LOVE dosas, so anything fermented and related to dosa has our utmost attention. I think I will have to learn how to make dosa batter from scratch and then make these. Thanks for the great recipe!

    hi bri, thanks for dropping by….once you get to making it from scratch, its pretty simple and such a life saver!! try it!!

  8. Laavanya says:

    Nice write-up! 🙂
    I love uthappams too but my version has lots of fried onions … yours look so spongy and yummy.

    hi Lavanya…..i’m not partial to too much onion…so mine has it in small doses…..

  9. Raaga says:

    I do this too… but I haven’t made dosa batter in months now. I will make it soon

    do it babes!! isnt it some time ago we agreed it was such a life saver??

  10. Jayashree says:

    The first few lines are so true….you realise how much your mother does only after you get married and start doing all that yourself.
    nice entry for both the events.

    thanks jayashree…..i wondered for a while if i was the only one wanting to clobber bell ringers!!

  11. Rupa says:

    Uttapams looks delicious….Like it anytime of the day

    hi rupa…..thanks…and i agree with the anytime is uttapam time too!!

  12. Trupti says:

    yummy Uhappams..I love these

    help yourself to some trupti!! 🙂

  13. Your Uthappams look absloutely delicious..Reminded of those my mom used to make

    hi divya….thanks!! 🙂

  14. Vaishali says:

    Arundati, I love onion uttapam, and your post brought back some lovely memories of eating this in Bombay’s udupi restaurants. I haven’t had it in a long time, though, and you’ve inspired me to try making my own. They look delicious!

    go on girl!! have a weekend bash for yourself!! or just c’mon over!! 🙂

  15. Hi

    First time iam here…

    lovely uttapams!!!

    hi vanamala, welcome to Escapades and thanks for stopping over….

  16. Cham says:

    Love ur uttapam , it came out so well….

    😀

  17. Mansi says:

    Perfect Arundati! wonderful way to kickstart the day:) thanks so much for sending these in!!

    hi Mansi!! what a beautifully resourceful theme you chose….. cant wait for the roundup!!

  18. Uma says:

    Lovely utappams! Mmm. I can smell them.

    🙂 …..what?? really?? the chimney has been on for a while now!!

  19. Ambica says:

    yummy… i love uttapams with onions and tomatoes and green chillies. i used to nag mom to make and keep, i’d like to have to them cold for some reason!!! you can try some with capsicum, cheese, onion and tomato… tastes damn good

    oh!! cheese and tomato are my ultimate favourites!! but i dare not indulge in it too often!! it gets addictive…..i agree babe, that they taste great cold too….

  20. Saswati says:

    hey thats a gr8 entry.uttapams are my all time favourite.

    hi saswati!! thanks…:)

  21. Happy Cook says:

    Uttapom is my hubby’s favourite.
    I don’t make them for morning, make them for lunch 🙂
    Your looks delicious

    hi HC, i agree……….they’re actually good for anytime…breakfast, lunch, dinner or anytime in between!!

  22. Anjali says:

    nice & yummy, i love uttappas!

    hi anjali…thanks for dropping by….:)

  23. Asha says:

    YUM YUM YUM!!!:))

    Dear Asha…. ditto ditto ditto!! 😀

  24. Srivalli says:

    hahah…so finally you managed for two events…great…uttappams look great!

    yes i did!! this time i get a ring side view!! cant wait for the round up!!

  25. jayasree says:

    Hey its the same story with me too. I add whatever I can lay my hands on to mask the sourness of the batter.

    i kind of like a mild sourness…..not too much tho…in our hostel we’d ask each other what the voltage was…depending on the assault to the senses!!

Leave a comment