Express Breakfasts? Easy Upma Recipe

I know it is a corny ditty, but upma has been my succor in times when hunger strikes….the unassuming preparation, used to be very infamously dubbed “international paste” by brother and i!! upma, read more about it here…

Simple to make with as many or as little ingredients as are on hand, easily adapting to semolina, cracked wheat or vermicelli, upma is fast food at its best, nutritiously laden with carbs, it is my fix for midnight hunger pangs, days when the fridge is almost empty and when I am in no mood to ponder over a meal….ready in less time than it takes to boil an egg…the only thing to master here is, to add the semolina in a steady stream while mixing continuously to ensure there are no lumps….that can be a bummer!!

For this time, I added 2 tablespoons of chopped tomato along with 1 tablespoon of chopped onion…..even a simple tadka minus onion and tomatoes works fine…..add finely chopped or grated veggies such as carrot, cabbage, beans and peas if you would like to increase the fibre content. Add peanuts to the tadka, or cashews if you are feeling particularly indulgent…….Garnished or bare, try upma if you haven’t already…..

this is making its way to Raaga’s edition of WBB: Express Breakfasts

For the upma

1 c semolina

2 ½ c water

2 t oil

½ t mustard seeds

1 tsp each channa dal and urad dal

A few curry leaves

½ t grated of finely chopped fresh ginger

1 t green chillies chopped

2 T chopped tomato

1 T finely chopped onion

Salt to taste

1 T fresh coriander leaves

In a thick bottom or non stick pan, heat the oil, splutter the mustard seeds, add the channa and urad dals and toast till golden brown. Add the curry leaves, coriander leaves, green chillies, onion, tomato and salt. Stir for a minute or so till the tomatoes are half cooked. Add the water and wait for it to come to a boil. Lower the heat and add the semolina in a steady stream, all the while stirring in a circular movement to prevent the formation of lumps. Stir for another minute till the whole mix is bubbling. Cover and simmer for a couple of more minutes till the semolina is cooked but the upma still looks moist. Mix thoroughly before serving with chutney, podi or pickle….my favourite way to have it is with a good helping of avakkai.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Mallika says:

    I recently made this too, although I managed to scrape the sides of my frying pan. What a wonderful and simple recipe… love it!

  2. romaspace says:

    Yeah, this one is really fast.
    There are 2 types of semolina available, one roasted and the other plain. I think the roasted one takes longer to cook. So for an express breakfast the other one is better.
    Your Upma looks delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  3. sunshinemom says:

    Simple nice and quick:) My son loves it very much with cashews:)

  4. Kalva says:

    Lovely pics…

  5. Rajitha says:

    love upma..as a kid hated it..then as a teen loved it..the love-affair is still on 😀

  6. vanamala says:

    Looks nice simple bfast:)

  7. Shri says:

    Always upma helps!!Nice entry

  8. sireesha says:

    I love upma very much can eat any time…….looks delicious..

  9. just like rachel said, me and my bro used to say that “our stomach is full” as soon as we see that its upma for breakfast! but luckily my hus shares my tastes in food 🙂 !!

  10. Rachel says:

    When this was made at home for breakfast..my siblings and I promptly skipped breakfast……and here I am maried to someone who can have upma any time of the day!!! Sigh!!!

    haha…..its true then that life turns up funny surprises!! well girl!! just thank your stars the spouse gives the green signal to upma!!

  11. ranji says:

    oh i love sticky upma…always comes in handy when i am lazy to cook anything fancy..love to have these with mixture or spicy potato curry ..nice entry.

    have never tried it with mixture….am going to the next time….:)

  12. Asha says:

    I prefer sticky yummy Uppittu as well. My mother likes that loose crumbly Uppittu!:D

    Looks great!:)

    OMG!! my mom too likes it crumbly!! 🙂 all set for that vacation?? have fun!!

  13. Raaga says:

    I like this sticky upma… camp upma as I call it.

    Thanks for making my fave dish girl 🙂

    that’s one more thing in common!! i think we should start a club…love for upma (dot) com!!

Leave a comment