Raw Papaya Salad

I made this yesterday because I cut one raw papaya for Anju who visited us for breakfast and we forgot to add it to her bag.

I make this pretty often and while the template is the same, I do incorporate what I have at hand and don’t needlessly stress over ingredients I dont have.

What you will need:

2 cups grated raw papaya

1 cup assorted salad usuals – cucumber, tomato, onion (chopped / sliced fine)

1/2 cup crunchy vegetables – bell peppers/ carrot/ fresh young green beans, sliced into slivers

1 cup greens – I used green onion and basil but use what you have – spinach, lettuce, mint and coriander or skip

Dressing:

2 teaspoons sesame oil (I used the oil from my garlic jalapeno concoction)

1 grated garlic pod

2 sliced green / red chillies for heat

1 teaspoon brown sugar or jaggery

salt to taste

1/4 teaspoon red chilli powder

1 tablespoon lemon/ lime juice

Mix all of the above till the sugar has dissolved and add to the salad

Garnish:

1/4 cup roasted and skinned peanuts

2 tablespoons toasted white sesame seeds

1/4 cup green onions and basil torn

Mix everything with your hands till incorporated

Eat

Can also add shredded boiled chicken / grilled shrimp to this for a protein hit!

Leave a comment