Lemon Vermicelli ~ Lemon Sevai Recipe

lemonvermicelli.jpg

There are times when I get tired of the idli dosa combos and crave something different for breakfast….K isn’t too happy at these times and I have to mask something I like with atleast one element of a dish that he likes to get him to even look at it…(bah!! And people complain only about fussy kids!!) i love vermicelli, but K doesn’t care much for it….. one such discovery was lemon semia….i have never eaten this anywhere else, though I am sure I haven’t exactly pioneered it to shout out eureka!! This is inspired by the lemon idiappam I have had that my MIL makes…..i’ve just substituted vermicelli instead of idiappam….its done in a jiffy and if you have lemons or lemon juice at hand, can be made in as much time as it takes to boil the vermicelli!! So for the days when you need a really quick snack or breakfast, this is a good option. I use the pre roasted vermicelli, it gives it a different flavor and more importantly doesn’t stick together like a stubbornly gummy vermicelli.

this can be made on the stove top and microwave…here is the microwave version…which is off to WBB – microwave foods, hosted this month by Easycrafts ….. WBB is the spell on blogging breakfasts, first cast by the good doctor Nandita at Saffron Trail

Lemon Semia

(To serve 2)

1 cup roasted vermicelli

1 t oil

½ t mustard seeds

1 t urad dal (shelled black gram)

1 t channa dal (split bengal gram)

A few curry leaves

1 T cashew nuts (broken into pieces, totally optional)

A pinch of turmeric

Salt to taste

2 T lemon juice

2 green chillies slit lengthwise

1 T freshly grated coconut for the garnish

in a microwave safe bowl, place 1 1/2 cups water, 1 cuproasted vermicelli, salt to taste. cover, and microwave on high for 5-6 mins (that’s how long it takes in my oven, check and adjust the time accordingly). the semia will be just cooked, fluff with a fork and set aside.

in another microwave safe bowl, add the oil, mustard seeds, urad and channa dals, turmeric, curry leaves, green chillies, cashew nuts (if using) and zap covered on high for a minute till the mustard splutters. take out, add the lemon juice, cooked vermicelli, grated coconut, mix well. Serve hot with pickle / chutney or plain. yes….the method ends here…it is that simple!!

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Sophie A. says:

    My grandmother makes a soup with this using tomato 🙂

  2. swapna says:

    Hi Anu,

    I have not made the lemony upma, but I used to make the same roasted vermicelli upma since it is Din’s fav. And I always used to add a twist of lime, coz I like the taste…but have to try this!!!

    TC

  3. Deeba says:

    Am here with the sledgehammer dear…so much for gentle vermicelli! You got to the award before it got to you! All yours * wink wink*…now the bottle better be mine! How goes the basil? Hurry up & grow it…made some nice roasted bell pepper/roasted garlic with basil focaccia & pasta today. Sing to your plants!! Lol

  4. Swati says:

    Delicious and lovely breakfast …!! Fast too..Will try it soon :))

  5. nandita says:

    Thats as fast as it can get 🙂
    Love this recipe…just like eating lemon sevai! Will try it for breakfast one of these days

  6. Cynthia says:

    You know the only way I’ve only had vermicelli is as a sweet. I must give it a try as as savoury item.

  7. This is a lovely, new way for me to make vermicelli. The aromas of those Indian spices must be sensational.

  8. Sig says:

    Did u say Lemon Idiyappam? Never heard of that… 🙂
    This vermicelli is a nice and easy breakfast indeed…

    could be MILs spin on using up leftover idiappam….had us hooked!!

  9. Saswati says:

    Yummm the vermicelli looks ready to devour…i normally make with peas and plain but lemon is agr8 idea…thanks dear

  10. easycrafts says:

    Very creative one…thanks for sending it to the event

  11. such an easy breakfast!will try this

  12. rachel says:

    This is a version I am fond of as well

  13. Uma says:

    looks lovely. so delicious.

  14. Vaishali says:

    This looks lovely, Arundati. It reminds me a bit of one of my perennial favorites, lemon rice. which has similar ingredients, other than the vermicelli, of course.

  15. Arundathi says:

    I make this very often with the idiyappam – i love it. what a great idea to do it with vermicelli – am sure it would be so much easier!

  16. Cham says:

    I love lemony semiya. Looks delish!

  17. indosungod says:

    you spluttered the mustard seeds in the microwave, I have used the microwave mostly for heating purposes. Got to try cooking this tasty vermicelli in the microwave sometime for a quick and tasty meal or snack

  18. Happy Cook says:

    I love semiya done like this.
    Delicious

  19. karuna says:

    thanks for visiting my blog.
    i have rice vermicelli with me, i think i can make it using this recipe. looks good.

  20. jayasree says:

    Lemon semia is quite innovative. I often make semia upma. But have never tried lemon and semia combo. I am sure it must have tasted nice.

Leave a comment