Baking ~ Easy Fudgy Chocolate Cupcakes

Last year in August, I opened up my kitchen commercially…. taking orders for custom made cupcakes from family and friends and the word spread. Why am I talking about it here? Because for the longest time, I felt embarrassed to post it here….but it is an extension of what I love, and you my dear blog readers deserve to know…. also, cupcakes are all the rage currently, so I thought I would put the information out there for anyone who wanted to know about where to order custom made cupcakes in Hyderabad.

Look no further. Send me an email at escapadesculinarystudio(at)gmail(dot)com or leave a comment here and I will get back to you. You could also leave a message for me on my Facebook page.

Recently, I made a batch of chocolate cupcakes with my regular recipe but wasn’t happy with the texture of the cocoa powder only cupcakes. I tweaked the recipe a bit and added melted dark chocolate and a pat of butter to the same batter and the cupcakes turned out like magic! deep dark full of texture and very rich. the compliments I got for these cupcakes alone should keep me from seeking any other recipe out in the future!

here is the recipe

Fudgy Chocolate Cupcakes (Makes 10 regular sized cupcakes)

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2/4 cup brown sugar (I powdered it finely)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup coffee decoction  (or 1 cup of warm water mixed with 1 1/2 teaspoons of instant coffee powder)

2 teaspoons vanilla essence or a teaspoon of real vanilla extract

1/4 cup sunflower or any neutral oil

100 grams dark chocolate, chopped and melted without lumps

3 tablespoons of butter, melted

METHOD

Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare a muffin tin with cupcake liners.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until everything is mixed well.

In the large jar attachment of a food processor (or a large bowl if doing by hand) mix together the coffee, sugar, vanilla extract, and oil.

Melt the chocolate and butter together (you can heat in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time till just melted, then stir to mix thoroughly)

Mix together the dry ingredients  with the sugar mixture and the melted butter and chocolate until it makes a fairly thin batter. Take care not to over mix the batter, or the cupcakes will have a rubbery texture.

Fill the cupcake liners with batter till about 2/3 full.

Bake for 22 to 24 minutes, or till a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then remove from pan and let cool on a rack.

Once cool, frost or eat/ serve as is.

I made 24 mini cupcakes with this batted. Should make about 10 regular ones

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Your cupcakes look very mmmmm yummy,rich,delicious….my friends always praise me for best cooking now i get this chance again. Grateful to you for provide me recipe of chocolate cupcakes. I promise you to follow your link at Facebook and also recommend to my buddies.

  2. Neelu says:

    Hi,
    This is my favorite go to recipe when it comes to eggless chocolate cupcakes. It’s absolutely yum! The only problem i face is that the cake gets stuck to the cupcake liner /paper.. it actually disintegrates. I am told that this could b bcoz of the lack of protein in the recipe. So what can I do today avoid that? Any suggestions?
    Thank you, stay blessed!

  3. Brunda says:

    Hey Arundhati…Can you tell me what oil you use? Whenever I’ve used oil in my cakes it has a funny oil smell …I use Saffola sunflower oil in my kitchen.
    Good luck with those orders!

    1. arundati says:

      i use sundrop or golddrop sunflower oil, sometimes priya rice bran. have not noticed the funny oil smell….try whisking it a bit more and increase the vanilla essence a tad

      1. Brunda says:

        hmmm I’ve also tried with Priya rice bran oil and had the same results. Will whisk more and up the vanilla next time.
        Thanks!

  4. michelle says:

    what quantity of coco powder muct i use if u want to replace chocolate slab?

  5. srivallijetti says:

    Those are looking so tempting. esp the fact that it’s eggless..:)..good one Aru.

    btw not sure if it’s a problem you can fix unable to leave comment the usual way I finally had to reset my WP acct and leave the comment…:(.

    1. arundati says:

      thanks Valli! yeah most of the times when I bake for an order, I’m requested to do so with an eggless option. thanks for the alert… i havent changed anything!

  6. Riti says:

    Will try it today. The best itits eggless.. Most of my freinds dont have egg.. Thanks anu.

    1. arundati says:

      do let me know how they turned out Riti!

  7. Jagruti says:

    These look delicious! Can we substitute vegetable oil with butter? How much would that be?

    Do let me know!
    Good luck on your new venture! 🙂

    1. arundati says:

      hi Jagruti, yes i think you can substitute butter for vegetable oil, make sure you melt the butter and the amount is the same as the oil. i havent tried it myself, but do let me know how they turned out! thank you for your wishes!

  8. Pooja says:

    Looks great Aru, this year I had the same problem with my Christmas cake….I usually use melted dark chocolate, but this year when I started making the cake and took out my chocolate slab I realised that I had bought white chocolate by mistake (duh!) so I used my Hershey’s Cocoa but it turned out too dry 😦 (quite humiliating as I consider my self a good baker lol) then I realised chocolate has a lot of fat content! So I wish u had put this up earlier lol 🙂 BTW why white vinegar?

    1. arundati says:

      hi Pooja, i can agree that it is disappointing when a baking experiment doesn’t turn out right…i generally douse dry cake/ cupcakes with something moist like custard or serve it with a sauce and ice-cream. does great to camouflage faults.

      I’ve read that vinegar acts as an egg substitute. i just followed the recipe tho, so i wouldn’t know otherwise!

Leave a comment